Nevada "DMV Demerit Points" Laws
(Explained by Las Vegas Traffic Ticket Lawyers)

Demerit points are added to Nevada driver's licenses whenever the license-holder gets convicted of a moving violation. For example, the Nevada crime of speeding 10 miles over the limit carries 1 demerit point.

Whenever people accumulate 12 or more points in a year, the Nevada DMV will suspend their license for 6 months. But halfway through the suspension period, they may be able to resume driving to and from work or school on a restricted license in Nevada.

Driver's license-holders may be able to erase 3 demerit points from their license by completing an accredited traffic school program. And if they ever do accrue 12 or more points in a year, they have the right to a Nevada DMV hearing to fight the license suspension.

In this article, our Las Vegas traffic ticket lawyers discuss the Nevada demerit point system:

sign
The NV DMV suspends driver's licenses of people who accrue 12 or more demerit points in the span of one year.

1. How does Nevada's Demerit Point System work?

Most Nevada traffic law violations are allocated a demerit point value. When driver's license-holders are convicted of a traffic violation, the DMV adds the corresponding points to their driving record.

If license-holders ever accumulate 12 or more points in a one-year period, the DMV will suspend their license for six months. Once three months of the suspension have passed, the DMV may grant them a restricted license to drive to school and work.

And if license-holders accumulate 12 or more points in a one-year period for the second time in three years, the DMV will suspend their license for one year. Once six months of the suspension have passed, the DMV may grant them a restricted license to drive to school and work.

Then if license-holders accumulate 12 or more points in a one-year period for the third time in five years, the DMV will again suspend their license for one year. But the DMV will not grant them a restricted license at all.1

To apply for a restricted license in Nevada, click here.

2. How many points do Nevada traffic violations carry?

It depends. Parking and other non-moving violations generally carry no demerit point penalties because they are so minor. Meanwhile, serious traffic offenses such as Nevada DUI crimes carry no demerit points either because the DMV instead revokes the defendant's license immediately.2

Below are some of the most frequently ticketed traffic crimes and their corresponding demerit point values.3 For a complete list, see the official Nevada DMV demerit point schedule.

Nevada traffic offense

Nevada DMV demerit point value

Nevada crime of reckless driving (NRS 484B.653)

8

Clark County crime of careless driving (CCC 14.60.190)

6

Nevada crime of hit & run (NRS 484E.010)

6

Nevada crime of texting and driving (NRS 484B.165)

4

Nevada traffic offense of following too closely/ tailgating (NRS 484B.127)

4

Nevada traffic offense of failure to yield the right-of-way (NRS 484B.253)

4

Nevada traffic offense of passing a school bus when signals are flashing (NRS 484B.353)

4

Nevada traffic offense of failure to yield to a pedestrian (NRS 484B.283)

4

Nevada traffic offense of disobeying a traffic signal or stop sign (NRS 484B.100)

4

Nevada traffic offense of running a red light (NRS 484B.307)

4

Nevada traffic offense of running a stop sign (NRS 484B.257)

4

Nevada crime of driving on a carpool lane (NRS 484B.323)

4

Nevada crime of making an improper turn (NRS 484B.400)

4

Nevada crime of unsafe passing (NRS 484B.203)

4

Nevada crime of passing on the right (NRS 484B.207)

4

Nevada crime of turning right on red (NRS 484B.300)

4

Nevada crime of driving through a safety zone (NRS 484B.110)

4

Nevada crime of failing to yield to traffic incidents (NRS 484B.607)

4

Nevada crime of failing to yield to tow trucks (NRS 484B.607)

4

Nevada crime of failing to yield to bicyclists (NRS 484B.270)

4

Nevada crime of unsafe turning onto roadway (NRS 484B.260)

4

Nevada traffic offense of an unlawful U-turn (NRS 484B.403)

3

Nevada crime of unsafe backing (NRS 484B.113)

2

Nevada traffic offense of impeding traffic by driving too slowly (NRS 484B.623)

2

Nevada traffic offense of failure to dim high beams (NRS 484D.215)

2

Nevada traffic offense of failing to use headlights (NRS 484D.100)

2

Nevada motorcycle helmet violations (NRS 486.231)

2

Nevada crime of failure to signal (NRS 484B.413)

1

Speeding 1-10 mph over the limit (NRS 484B.600)

1

Speeding 11-20 mph over the limit (NRS 484B.600)

2

Speeding 21-30 mph over the limit (NRS 484B.600)

3

Speeding 31-40 mph over the limit (NRS 484B.600)

4

Speeding 41 mph and over limit (NRS 484B.600)

5

Nevada traffic offense of speeding in a school zone 1-15 mph over the limit (NRS 484B.363)

4

Speeding in a school zone 16 mph or higher over the limit (NRS 484B.363)

6

3. How can I eliminate my demerit points?

The demerit points for a particular Nevada traffic violation get automatically erased twelve (12) months after the date of the conviction.4 But license-holders can get three (3) points erased early by completing a traffic safety course:

dmv sign
NV DMV demerit points disappear after 12 months.

License-holders are allowed to attend traffic school no more than once a year to remove demerit points. For a list of Nevada DMV-certified traffic schools, click here.

License-holders are cautioned to wait to start traffic school until they receive notice that the DMV has added the demerit points to their record: Doing traffic school prior to the points being applied to their record will not erase any future points. 

Note that doing traffic school erases points only if the judge did not order the person to do traffic school as part of a Nevada plea bargain. Any traffic school that is ordered as part of a plea deal does not remove demerit points.

Also note that traffic convictions stay on people's permanent driving record even after demerit points get removed from a license. This may cause an increase in the license-holder's automobile insurance rates.5

4. What if I live out-of-state, and I get a traffic ticket in Nevada?

Non-Nevada residents are advised to hire a local lawyer in Nevada to try to get the traffic ticket dismissed or pleaded down. In addition, non-Nevada residents are advised to contact an attorney in their home state to see if the Nevada ticket will affect their driver's license there.  

For a list of DMVs in all fifty states, click here.

5. What if I live in Nevada, and I get a traffic ticket from another state?

Nevada driver's license-holders who get ticketed out-of-state should hire a local attorney in that state to try to get the ticket dismissed or pleaded down. Out-of-state tickets do become a part of the license-holder's driving record, but it should not add any demerit points to his/her license.6

6. Can I stop my license from being suspended from too many demerit points?

license
A NV DMV hearing is a mini-trial where license-holders can contest their license suspension.

Possibly. Once people's Nevada driver's licenses amass twelve (12) or more demerit points, the DMV will mail them a notice of their right to an administrative DMV hearing. A DMV hearing is like a mini-trial where the license-holder can contest the license suspension.7

DMV hearings are difficult to win. This is because the prosecutor's burden of proof is much lower than the "beyond a reasonable doubt" standard in criminal trials. Therefore, license-holders are advised to hire an experienced DMV attorney to appear for them and fight the case.

Note that driving on a suspended license in Nevada is a misdemeanor in Nevada. The penalties include up to six (6) months in jail and/or up to $1,000 in fines. Additionally, the DMV will suspend the person's license for another six (6) months.8

Also note that license-holders should always hire an attorney as soon as they get cited for a traffic violation. If the attorney succeeds in getting the ticket dismissed or pleaded down to a non-moving violation, then the license-holder will not have to deal with the DMV or demerit points at all.

Call a Las Vegas criminal defense attorney...

Male receptionist waiting for your call.
Call our Las Vegas criminal defense attorneys at 702-DEFENSE for a FREE consultation today.

If you are facing a license suspension for demerit points in Nevada, call our Las Vegas criminal defense attorneys at 702-DEFENSE (702-333-3673) for a free phone consultation. We may be able to fight and win against the DMV so you keep your driver's license.

Nevada DMV Demerits Lawyer Disclaimer: The DMV demerits, DMV Drivers License Suspension, Driving Under the Influence, Driving While Intoxicated or other DUI defense information presented at this site should not be considered formal legal advice nor the formation of a lawyer or attorney client relationship. Any results set forth here were dependent on the facts of that case and the results will differ from case to case. Please contact a Nevada drunk driving defense lawyer or attorney for a free initial consultation. This website is not intended to solicit clients for matters outside of the State of Nevada.


Legal References

  1. NRS 483.473; NV DMV Demerit Point System.
  2. NRS 484C.400.
  3. NAC 483.510.
  4. NAC 483.500.
  5. NRS 483.448.
  6. Penny Gusner, "Out-of-State Speeding Tickets Follow You Home," Fox Business (
  7. NAC 483.390.
  8. NRS 483.560.

Free attorney consultations...

Our attorneys want to hear your side of the story. Contact us 24/7 to schedule a FREE consultation with a criminal defense lawyer. We may be able to get your charges reduced or even dismissed altogether. And if necessary, we will champion your case all the way to trial.

Regain peace of mind...

Shouse Law Defense Group has multiple locations throughout California. Click Office Locations to find out which office is right for you.

Office Locations

Shouse Law Group has multiple locations all across California, Nevada, and Colorado. Click Office Locations to find out which office is right for you.

To contact us, please select your state:

Call us 24/7 (855) 396-0370