Picking up a Nevada DUI affects your car insurance in two ways: (1) insurance companies will consider you a high risk and will increase your premiums or refuse to renew coverage, and (2) you will be required to obtain an SR22 before you can get your license reinstated. You also must maintain the SR22 for three years.
In this article, our Las Vegas DUI attorneys discuss:
- 1. How much is insurance after a DUI?
- 2. Does Nevada require an SSR22?
- 3. How long do you have to carry SR22 insurance in Nevada?
- 4. What happens to my SR22 if my insurance lapses?
- 5. How long does a DUI affect your insurance in Nevada?
- 6. Will my insurance drop me after a DUI?
- 7. Do I need an SR22 if I do not have a car?
1. How much is insurance after a DUI?
Insurance providers in Nevada increase auto insurance premiums by as much as 50% or more following a DUI. This is because DUI defendants are considered high risk for car insurance companies to cover. It does not matter if it was only their first-time DUI, if their blood alcohol content (BAC) was relatively low, and if they caused no property damage.
Drivers are advised to consult with an insurance agent with the Nevada Insurance Department for guidance on how to find fair “high risk” motor insurance rates. According to various websites that compare car insurance rates, State Farm currently offers the lowest post-DUI liability insurance rates.
2. Does Nevada require an SR22?
Nevada law mandates that drivers obtain SR22 insurance from an auto insurance company as a condition of reinstating their driver’s license following a DUI.1 (A temporary driver’s license suspension/revocation is a standard DUI penalty.2)
An SR 22 is simply a document showing “proof of financial responsibility.” It shows the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) that the driver has at least minimum coverage, which is:
- $25,000 – bodily injury or death of one person
- $50,000 – bodily injury or death of more than one person
- $20,000 – injury or damage to the property of others3
Note that motorists with non-Nevada driver’s licenses will likely need SR22 insurance to reinstate their license unless they live in either:
- New Mexico
- New York
- North Carolina
3. How long do you have to carry SR22 insurance in Nevada?
Nevada law requires that drivers maintain SR22 insurance for three (3) years as a condition of reinstating their license following a DUI.4
4. What happens to my SR22 if my insurance lapses?
If Nevada drivers let their auto insurance policies lapse before the three-year SR22 period ends, then they lose all credit for the time they maintained the SR22 insurance. In short, the SR22 clock resets to zero. So once they obtain liability coverage again, they will need to maintain SR22 for three years going forward.5
5. How long does a DUI affect your insurance in Nevada?
It depends on the car insurer. Some insurers consider only the prior three years of a person’s driving record when determining premiums. Others go back as far as 10 years.
6. Will my insurance drop me after a DUI?
Following a drunk driving incident, Nevada law prohibits carriers from suddenly increasing premiums or dropping insurance coverage during the existing policy period.6 But once the policy period ends, the insurer can elect to cease coverage – even if the DUI charge is still pending. But most insurers opt to increase auto insurance rates instead.
7. Do I need an SR22 if I do not have a car?
Yes. Nevada DUI defendants without cars need a non-owner SR22 policy in order to reinstate their driving privileges.
If you have been charged with driving under the influence, call our Las Vegas DUI defense attorneys and Las Vegas criminal defense lawyers for a phone consultation. We can explain these car insurance issues in further detail. And we may be able to help you avoid a DUI conviction by getting the charge reduced to reckless driving or a full dismissal.
In California? Go to our article on California SR 22 insurance.
- NRS 483.525. See Nevada State Dep’t of Motor Vehicles v. Turner (1973) 89 Nev. 514. See Nevada State Dep’t of Motor Vehicles v. Lawlor (1985) 101 Nev. 616.
- NRS 483.460.
- NRS 485.185.
- See note 1.
- See note 1.
- NRS 687B.145.