In this section, our attorneys explain Nevada’s criminal laws and legal concepts, A to Z
Nevada demerit points remain on your driver’s license for 12 months before disappearing. Accruing 12 or more points in a 12-month period of time typically triggers a six-month license suspension by the Nevada DMV. But you can usually get a restricted license after three months.
Here are five things to know:
The Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles tacks on demerit points to your driver’s license every time you are cited for a moving violation. The more serious the traffic violation, the greater number of points you get.
For instance, a speeding ticket (NRS 484B.600) for going 10 miles per hour over the speed limit carries only one point under Nevada’s demerit point system. But reckless driving (NRS 484B.653) carries eight demerit points. And these points stay on your record for 12 months before vanishing.
Note that parking and non-moving violations do not cause demerit points to be added to your record. (An example of a non-moving violation is driving without registration or without auto insurance.) And DUI convictions have no demerit point value because they immediately trigger an automatic license suspension.1
To obtain a copy of your driving record, refer to our article, Nevada Driving Record – How do I get it and what does it show? And for a complete list of traffic violations and their demerit point values, go to the Nevada DMV Violation Code List.
Accruing 12 demerit points in one year triggers a six-month driver’s license suspension in Nevada. But you can get a restricted license after three months.
Meanwhile, if you rack up 12 demerit points in one year for the second time in a three-year period, the license suspension will last one year. And a restricted license would be available six months into the suspension period.
Finally, getting 12 demerit points in one year for the third time in five years triggers another one-year license suspension. And you will not be able to get a restricted license at all.2
A restricted license usually allows you to commute to and from work, school, and medical appointments. To apply for a restricted license in Nevada, click here.
Nevada demerit points for traffic offenses go away after 12 months. But you may be able to remove three driver’s license points early by completing a DMV-approved traffic safety course.
However, a driving course that the court orders you to complete as part of a plea bargain does not erase demerit points. And you cannot remove more than three points through traffic school in one year, even if you do traffic school more than once.3
To see a list of Nevada DMV-certified traffic schools in Las Vegas and throughout the state of Nevada, click here.
If your license does get suspended for picking up too many demerit points, make sure not to drive during the suspension period. Driving on a suspended/revoked license (NRS 483.560) is a misdemeanor carrying:
Plus, your original license suspension period will be doubled.4
If you get a traffic ticket, you may think it is best just to pay the fine and get on with your life. But even after your case is closed, your demerit points remain on your record for a full 12 months. And picking up just one or two more minor moving violations could max out your 12-point allowance and trigger a six-month license suspension.
More often than not, an experienced Nevada traffic ticket attorney can get traffic charges reduced to a non-moving violation or a full dismissal – and with no demerit points at all. Twelve demerit points can add up quickly in one year, so it is worth trying to get your traffic charges lessened or dropped. It may be the only way to safeguard your license.
See our related Nevada traffic law articles on running stop sign (NRS 484B.307), running a red light (NRS 484B.307), leaving the scene of an accident (NRS 484E.010), failure to yield right-of-way during left turn (NRS 484B.253), careless driving (NRS ), using a cellphone while driving (NRS 484B.165), administrative hearings in DUI cases, and how to avoid a license revocation after a DUI.
A former Los Angeles prosecutor, attorney Neil Shouse graduated with honors from UC Berkeley and Harvard Law School (and completed additional graduate studies at MIT). He has been featured on CNN, Good Morning America, Dr Phil, Court TV, The Today Show and Court TV. Mr Shouse has been recognized by the National Trial Lawyers as one of the Top 100 Criminal and Top 100 Civil Attorneys.
You do not have to show police your identification in California, unless you are being lawfully detained or arrested. Unlike some other states, California does not have a “stop and identify” statute that makes it a crime to refuse to identify yourself. However, Vehicle Code section 12500(a) VC makes it a crime to drive without ...
In California, the discovery rule tolls, or delays, the statute of limitations for personal injury cases until the victim reasonably should have known that he or she was hurt. This can allow victims more time to file their lawsuits. It prevents situations where victims had no way of knowing they were injured until it was ...
Legal Analysis: What is the crime of "oral copulation with a minor"?Watch this video on YouTube Penal Code 288a PC is a California statute that prohibits oral copulation with a minor under the age of 18. Oral copulation is defined as any contact, no matter how slight, between the mouth of one person and the ...
If a minor lies about his or her age online, the minor will likely face no repercussions. However, adults who engage in sex acts with minors who have lied about their age can still be liable for a sex crime. In many states, not knowing that someone was underage is not a defense to most ...