Getting arrested for DUI does not mean you will be convicted. Police misconduct, defective breathalyzers and crime lab mistakes may be enough to get your charges lessened or dismissed. Visit our page on Nevada DUI Laws to learn more.
Immigrating to the U.S. is a gauntlet of forms, rules and interviews. But our attorneys are committed to making the process as quick and easy for you as possible. Visit our page on Nevada immigration laws to learn more.
up to $5,000 in fines (at the judge’s discretion)1
Clark County law mandates that you get the sheriff’s permission to carry concealed knives with a blade length of three (3) inches or longer. The permit-less concealed carry of a dirk or dagger with a three-inch or longer blade is a misdemeanor in Clark County, even for a first offense. Penalties include up to 6 months in jail and/or up to $1,000 in fines.2 For additional information, contact the Las Vegas Metropolitan Police Department at 702-828-3111.
Note that Nevada has no statewide preemption for knife laws. This means municipalities can make local laws that are harsher than state laws.
Licensed child care facilities (or automobiles that belong to them)
The unlawful possession or carry of knives at a school is a gross misdemeanor, even if no one sustains bodily harm. It is punishable by:
Up to 364 days in jail, and/or
Up to $2,000 in fines
There are exceptions: Law enforcement officers, peace officers, and security guards may carry weapons on the premises. If the child care facility doubles as your home, you can keep knives on the premises as long as children cannot access them.3
Yes, you may open carry a sword in Nevada as long as the location does not prohibit knives, such as schools and child care facilities.6
Can I carry a dagger in public?
In general, it is legal to carry a dagger in public as long as the Nevada location is not a knife-free zone such as a school or child care facility. Though a CCW permit may be required to carry the weapon concealed.7
Are brass knuckles legal in Nevada?
No. Brass knuckles are prohibited in Nevada. Possessing “metal knuckles” (which is what Nevada law calls “brass knuckles”) is usually a gross misdemeanor in Nevada, carrying:
up to 364 days in jail, and/or
up to $2,000 in fines8
What self defense weapons are legal in Nevada?
In general you can use guns, knives, and stun guns for self-defense. Though it is always illegal in Nevada to possess blackjacks, slungshots, billies, sand-clubs, sandbags or metal knuckles.9
Call our law firm for help. We offer consultations and create attorney-client relationships in Las Vegas, NV, North Las Vegas, Henderson, Reno, and throughout Nevada.
A former Los Angeles prosecutor, attorney Neil Shouse graduated with honors from UC Berkeley and Harvard Law School (and completed additional graduate studies at MIT). He has been featured on CNN, Good Morning America, Dr Phil, The Today Show and Court TV. Mr Shouse has been recognized by the National Trial Lawyers as one of the Top 100 Criminal and Top 100 Civil Attorneys.