In this section, our attorneys explain Nevada’s criminal laws and legal concepts, A to Z
No. Brass knuckles are illegal weapons in Nevada. The possession of metal knuckles – Nevada’s legal term for brass knuckles – is typically a gross misdemeanor, punishable by up to 364 days in jail, and/or up to $2,000 in fines.1
Brass knuckles consist of four connected metal finger holes that the wearer holds in place with his/her thumb. And the device’s shape permits it to absorb most of the counter-force, allowing the wearer to escape with little-to-no damage to his/her hand.
People who punch while wearing metal knuckles inflict a lot more damage than a naked fist. Possible injuries include cuts, broken bones, and even death.
Brass knuckles go by various names, including:
Yes. Under NRS 202.350, it is always a crime to make, import, sell, give, lend, offer, or possess brass knuckles.2
No. People cannot get a permit or license to have or carry brass knuckles in Nevada. It does not matter whether the person is carrying them openly or concealed.3
A first-time conviction of possessing metal knuckles is a gross misdemeanor in Nevada. The punishment is:
Any successive conviction is a category D felony. The sentence is:
Nevada has a separate statutes prohibiting brass knuckles on school property. This includes public schools, private schools, child care facilities, and the Nevada System of Higher Education.
A gross misdemeanor, possessing brass knuckles at a school or child care facility carries:
Note that public school students caught with brass knuckles at the school face a one (1) year expulsion for a first offense. A second offense carries a permanent expulsion.6
It is considered a public offense in Nevada to have brass knuckles while “willfully and maliciously injuring, marking, or defacing any public schoolhouse, its fixtures, books, or appurtenances.”7 The penalty turns on the value of the property damaged or destroyed:
Damage caused by brass knuckles
Penalty under NRS 393.410
|Less than $250||Misdemeanor:
|$250 to less than $5,000||Gross misdemeanor:
|$5,000 or more||Category C felony:
A former Los Angeles prosecutor, attorney Neil Shouse graduated with honors from UC Berkeley and Harvard Law School (and completed additional graduate studies at MIT). He has been featured on CNN, Good Morning America, Dr Phil, The Today Show and Court TV. Mr Shouse has been recognized by the National Trial Lawyers as one of the Top 100 Criminal and Top 100 Civil Attorneys.
Just about every driver has been pulled over by a police officer at some point in time. Usually, a police officer makes a traffic stop when there has been a traffic violation. But what is the legal standard for when the police can conduct a traffic stop in Nevada? The Fourth Amendment to the United States ...
The U.S. Constitution protects the rights of the public against unreasonable searches and seizures by law enforcement. The Supreme Court has long held that random traffic stops qualify as unreasonable seizures in violation of the Fourth Amendment. In order to justify a traffic stop, police officers must have probable cause, or at least reasonable suspicion, that a driver has violated ...
Pretrial Assessment Services (PAS) is a division of the California criminal courts that determines whether newly-arrested defendants should remain in jail or get released on their own recognizance (OR) while awaiting trial. PAS conducts “pretrial risk assessments” of newly-arrested people to determine whether they are at a low-, medium-, or high risk of: hurting someone ...
California’s financial responsibility law requires motorists to carry “proof of financial responsibility,” which usually means proof of auto insurance. The law is largely codified in California Vehicle Code Sections 1600-16078 VC and is sometimes referred to as “California’s Compulsory Financial Responsibility Law.” Under California law, the minimum amounts of insurance coverage for private passenger vehicles ...