It is illegal in Clark County, Nevada, to carry a concealed knife with a blade three (3) inches or longer unless the person has a valid and current knife-specific CCW (carrying concealed weapons) permit issued by a Nevada sheriff.
Getting a CCW knife permit in Las Vegas
For the most current instructions on how to get a CCW knife permit from the Las Vegas Metropolitan Police Department (LVMPD), call them at 702-828-3111. There is no pre-printed application like there is for firearms.
Typically, the LVMPD requires people to mail them a letter with the following information:
- the applicant’s name
- the applicant’s date of birth
- the applicant’s social security number
- the applicant’s address and phone number
- the type of knife the applicant wishes to carry concealed
If possible, the applicant should include as much information about the knife as possible including photographs.
Local Nevada sheriffs may grant CCW permits for knives only to residents in their county. Therefore, a Reno resident would need to apply to the Washoe County Sheriff for a CCW knife permit. But once the Reno resident gets a CCW permit, he/she may carry a concealed knife throughout Nevada. Here is a list of links to Nevada sheriff’s offices.
Nevada laws for carrying concealed knives
Under Nevada law, people must have a knife-specific CCW permit issued from a Nevada sheriff to carry concealed machetes or other dangerous or deadly weapons. State law does not define deadly or dangerous weapons; instead, it lets cities and counties define it and legislate accordingly.
In general, “dangerous and deadly” weapons usually comprise:
- sword canes,
- daggers, and
Police consider knives to be concealed if a person is carrying it in a way that is not noticeable. Examples include keeping a knife:
- in a pocket of pants or a jacket,
- in a bag or purse, or
- under a jacket or coat
For more information see our article on the Nevada crime of carrying concealed knives.
Clark County laws for carrying concealed knives
Local Clark County law requires a knife-specific CCW permit to carry concealed any knife with a blade three (3) inches or longer, even if the knife does not seem “dangerous or deadly.”
Reciprocity for CCW knife permits
Every state is different. People with out-of-state permits for carrying concealed knives should contact a local Nevada sheriff to see if his/her permit is recognized in Nevada. And Nevadans with in-state permits for carrying concealed knives should check with other state’s sheriffs before traveling there with concealed knives.
Penalties for carrying a concealed knife in Nevada without a permit
Carrying a concealed deadly or dangerous knife without a current and valid CCW permit is a category C felony in Nevada. The penalties include:
- 1 – 5 years in Nevada State Prison, and/or
- up to $10,000 in fines
Note that a carrying a concealed machete without a permit has laxer penalties:
|Carrying a concealed machete without a CCW permit||Penalties|
|First offense||gross misdemeanor: |
|Subsequent offense||category D felony: |
Carrying concealed knives versus firearms in Nevada
Nevada prohibits carrying a concealed firearm without a current and valid CCW permit. Furthermore, there are several locations where people may not bring firearms whether or not they have a permit.
Click here for the LVMPD CCW application for firearms. Learn more about how to obtain a permit to carry a concealed gun in Nevada. See our related article, Carrying a concealed weapon in Las Vegas – 3 things to know.
- Clark County Code 12.04.180 – Concealed weapons prohibited without permit.It is unlawful, within the unincorporated area of Clark County, for any person to carry upon his person a concealed weapon, not permitted in accordance with state law, of any description, including a knife with a blade of three inches or more, capable of being concealed, without first having received written permission therefor from the sheriff.
- NRS 202.350 Manufacture, importation, possession or use of dangerous weapon or silencer; carrying concealed weapon without permit; penalties; issuance of permit to carry concealed weapon; exceptions.1. Except as otherwise provided in this section and NRS 202.3653 to 202.369, inclusive, a person within this State shall not:…(d) Carry concealed upon his or her person any:(1) Explosive substance, other than ammunition or any components thereof;(2) Machete; or
(3) Pistol, revolver or other firearm, other dangerous or deadly weapon or pneumatic gun.
2. Except as otherwise provided in NRS 202.275 and 212.185, a person who violates any of the provisions of:
(a) Paragraph (a) or (c) of subsection 1 or subparagraph (2) of paragraph (d) of subsection 1 is guilty:
(1) For the first offense, of a gross misdemeanor.
(2) For any subsequent offense, of a category D felony and shall be punished as provided in NRS 193.130.
(b) Paragraph (b) of subsection 1 or subparagraph (1) or (3) of paragraph (d) of subsection 1 is guilty of a category C felony and shall be punished as provided in NRS 193.130.