Section 193.130(d) of the Nevada Revised Statutes reads:
A category D felony is a felony for which a court shall sentence a convicted person to imprisonment in the state prison for a minimum term of not less than 1 year and a maximum term of not more than 4 years. In addition to any other penalty, the court may impose a fine of not more than $5,000, unless a greater fine is authorized or required by statute.
Depending on the case, a defense attorney may be able to plea bargain a category D charge down to a reduced offense or get it dropped completely. If the prosecutor refuses to settle, you may pursue a jury trial.
Below our Las Vegas criminal defense attorneys answer frequently asked questions about category D felonies in Nevada, including
- punishments, and
- record seal time frames.
- 1. What are Category D felonies in Nevada?
- 2. What are the penalties for a Category D felony in Nevada?
- 3. Can I get a jury trial?
- 4. Can I get a record seal?
- 5. Will the government deport me?
Category D crimes in Nevada are the most minor class of felonies, second to category E felonies.1 Some examples are:
Note that attempting to commit a category D felony is prosecuted as a “wobbler” crime. Wobblers can be treated as either
- a category E felony or
- a gross misdemeanor.6
Learn more about Nevada wobbler offenses.
Category D felonies in Nevada carry the following sentencing scheme:
- one to four (1 – 4) years in prison, and
- maybe a fine of up to $5,0007
When Nevada judges order a sentence range for a Nevada felony conviction, the minimum time is not allowed to exceed 40% of the maximum time. For example, if a judge imposes three (3) years in prison, the minimum time must be no more than 14.4 months, which is 40% of three (3) years.8
See our related article, What are the Nevada felony sentencing guidelines?
Yes. If you are facing charges for category D felonies in Nevada, you may request a jury trial.9
A Nevada court can seal a category D felony conviction once five (5) years pass from the end of the case. Though felony “crimes of violence” may not be sealed until ten (10) years have passed since the case’s end.
Furthermore, Nevada courts may never seal a felony if it was a:
- sex offense,
- crime against a child, or
- felony DUI10
Nevada has no waiting period to seal any charges resulting in a dismissal (no conviction).11
Non-citizens with certain category D felony convictions are removable from the United States if the offenses qualify as
If the D.A. dismisses the case or reduces it to a non-removable crime, the threat of deportation may vanish.12