Mesquite Justice Court is located at 500 Hillside Drive, Mesquite, NV 89027. It is in the same building as the Mesquite Jail.
The phone number is (702) 346-5298. The email is [email protected]. And the courthouse is open Monday through Thursday, 7:00 AM to 5:00 PM.
In this article our Nevada criminal defense attorneys answer these frequently-asked-questions:
- 1. What does Mesquite Justice Court do?
- 2. Is my case information available online?
- 3. Where do I pay my fines online?
- 4. Can I volunteer instead of pay fines?
- 5. What is the worst that will happen if I miss court?
- 6. Can I skip my appearance if I do not live in Nevada?
- 7. Where do I park?
- 8. Can I just use a public defender?
- 9. What can I do if I do not speak English?
- 10. How do I dress?
- 11. Is there anything else I should know?
- 12. Can I seal my records?
- 13. Mesquite Municipal Court information
Mesquite Township Justice Court (MJC) has jurisdiction over the following criminal and civil legal matters:
- Misdemeanors and traffic tickets that occurred in unincorporated Mesquite. Misdemeanors arising out of incorporated Mesquite City are handled in Mesquite Municipal Court, which shares a courtroom with the MJC.
- Felonies and gross misdemeanors that occurred in Mesquite. But the case may get transferred to the Eighth Judicial District Court at 200 Lewis Ave., Las Vegas, NV 89101.
- Restraining orders
- Small claims lawsuits (no more than $10,000)
- Civil lawsuits (no more than $15,000)
Yes. Go to the Mesquite Justice Court case search website.
Go to the Mesquite Justice Court website. Acceptable forms of payment are Visa, MasterCard, and Discover. People who wish to pay cash must do so in person at the clerk’s window.
The Mesquite Justice of the Peace usually does allow defendants to do community service as an alternative to paying fines. Defendants can work off $10 for each hour served. But defendants need to get the court’s permission first.
Defendants in criminal cases who do not show up to a required appearance risk having the judge issue a bench warrant for their arrest.
Anyone with an active warrant is strongly encouraged to consult with an attorney. The attorney can file a motion to quash the warrant right away. And unless there are extenuating circumstances, the defendant does not need to show up to the warrant hearing as long as the defense attorney is present.
Parties to a civil or small claims action who miss court may have a default judgment taken out against them.
Defendants sick with COVID-19 should call the clerk at (702) 346-5298 to reschedule their appearance.
No. However, defendants facing criminal charges can usually miss their arraignment and status checks as long as they have a private attorney appearing on their behalf. But out-of-state defendants always need to appear if their matter proceeds to preliminary hearing or trial (which is rare).
There is free parking right outside the courthouse.
MJC defendants get appointed a public defender only if they cannot pay for a criminal defense lawyer of their own.
Note that most private attorneys are willing to offer discount rates and payment plans. And they have much more time than public defenders to devote to fighting for a charge reduction or dismissal.
Phone the District Court Interpreter’s Office at (702) 455-4279 to ask for an interpreter. It is recommended that you call several days ahead of your scheduled appearance.
The judge does not allow revealing clothes, including shorts and tank tops. Hats must be taken off before entering the courtroom. And shoes are required at all times. This is true for all Nevada courts.
There is no eating, drinking, or gum-chewing in the courtroom. Cell phones must be turned off. And never bring any weapons into the courthouse. Everyone gets put through a metal detector.
It depends on the case. But if the charge gets dismissed (meaning there is no conviction), then there is no waiting period to pursue a record seal.
|Conviction in Nevada||
Waiting period for a record seal
(after the case closes)
|Misdemeanors (with some exceptions – see below)||1 year|
|Gross misdemeanors, category E felonies, and misdemeanor battery, harassment, stalking, or violation of a protection order||2 years|
|Category D felonies, category C felonies, or category B felonies (with some exceptions – see below)||5 years|
|Misdemeanor DUI and battery domestic violence||7 years|
|Category A felonies, burglary of a residence, and felony crimes of violence||10 years|
|Certain sex crimes, crimes against children, invasion of the home with a deadly weapon, and felony DUI.||Never|
The record seal process itself takes a while. And there is a lot of paperwork involved. An experienced criminal defense lawyer is the best bet for getting it right the first time and as quickly as possible.
Mesquite Muni Court is located in the same building as MJC. The phone number is (702) 346-5291. The email is [email protected]. The hours are Monday through Thursday, 7:00 AM to 5:00 PM. Learn more at the official website.
- Mesquite Justice Courts official website
- Bail schedule
- Fee schedule
- Local Rules
- Clark County record sealing information
- Traffic School
- Clark County Public Defenders Office
- Clark County Law Library