Category E felonies are the least serious class of felony crimes in Nevada. A conviction is punishable by
- 1 to 4 years in state prison, and
- a fine of up to $5000.00.
NRS 193.130(e) states:
A category E felony is a felony for which a court shall sentence a convicted person to imprisonment in the state prison for a minimum term of not less than 1 year and a maximum term of not more than 4 years. Except as otherwise provided in paragraph (b) of subsection 1 of NRS 176A.100 or paragraph (a) of subsection 2 of NRS 453.336, upon sentencing a person who is found guilty of a category E felony, the court shall suspend the execution of the sentence and grant probation to the person upon such conditions as the court deems appropriate. Such conditions of probation may include, but are not limited to, requiring the person to serve a term of confinement of not more than 1 year in the county jail. In addition to any other penalty, the court may impose a fine of not more than $5,000, unless a greater penalty is authorized or required by statute.
Below our Las Vegas criminal defense attorneys answer frequently-asked-questions about category E felonies in Nevada, including
- punishments, and
- record seal time frames.
- 1. What are category E felonies in Nevada?
- 2. What are the penalties?
- 3. Can I get a jury trial?
- 4. Can I get a category E felony sealed?
- 5. Will I get deported?
Category E crimes in Nevada are the least grave class of felonies. They are more serious than
Common examples of category E felonies in Nevada are:
- Criminal gang recruitment (committed by an adult)3
- A second offense of peeping with a camera or recorder4
- A first or second offense of marijuana possession of more than one (1) ounce.5
Note that attempting to commit a category E felony is prosecuted as a “wobbler” crime that can be treated as either a category E felony or a gross misdemeanor.6 Learn more about wobbler offenses.
Nevada courts grant probation to you if you are convicted of a category E felony. This means the judge will suspend a jail sentence as long as you stay out of trouble and fulfill other court-ordered requirements.
The only time the judge may impose prison instead of probation is if you have two or more prior felony convictions. The maximum penalties may include:
- one to four (1 – 4) years in Nevada State Prison, and
- a fine of up to $5,0007
For certain charges of first- or second-time recreational drug possession (NRS 453.336), the judge will impose a deferral of judgment if you plead
- guilty or
- no contest.
As long as you complete certain court-ordered terms, the case will be dismissed (which means there will be no conviction).
When a judge imposes a sentence range for a Nevada felony conviction, the minimum time cannot exceed 40% of the maximum time. For example, if a judge orders someone to a maximum prison term of four (4) years, the minimum time must be no more than 19.2 months, which is 40% of four (4) years.8
Yes. If you are charged with a category E felony in Nevada, you have the constitutional right to a jury trial.9
Category E felony convictions can usually be sealed two (2) years after the case closes. Though the case can never be sealed if it involved
- a crime against children,
- a sex crime, or
- felony DUI.10
If the case gets dismissed (which means there is no conviction), you can start the record seal petition process immediately.11
Even though category E felonies are the least serious class of felonies, some of them may be considered crimes involving moral turpitude (CIMT). Aliens convicted of a CIMT risk deportation, which is why non-citizens are advised to retain counsel to attempt to get their charges changed to a non-deportable offense.12