Henderson Justice Court is located in the Justice Facility at 243 Water Street, Henderson, Nevada 89015. It is in the same building as the Henderson Detention Center.
The phone number is (702) 455-7951. And the public can email the clerk at [email protected]. Business hours are Monday through Thursday, 7:00 AM to 4:30 PM.
In this article our Nevada criminal defense attorneys answer these frequently-asked-questions:
- 1. What does Henderson Justice Court do?
- 2. Is my case information online?
- 3. How do I pay fines online?
- 4. What if I cannot afford the fines?
- 5. What is the penalty if I miss my appearance?
- 6. Do I have to pay for parking?
- 7. If I do not live in Nevada, do I still have to come to court?
- 8. How do I get a public defender?
- 9. Are there translators in the courtroom?
- 10. Is there a dress code?
- 11. Is there anything else I should know?
- 12. Can I seal my records?
1. What does Henderson Justice Court do?
Henderson Township Justice Court (HJC) handles the following civil and criminal cases:
- Misdemeanors – including traffic tickets – in unincorporated Henderson. Misdemeanors in the incorporated city of Henderson are handled in Henderson Municipal Court, which is in the same building as HJC.
- Felonies and gross misdemeanors in Henderson. But unless the charges get reduced to misdemeanors or dismissed, the case will be “bound over” to the Eighth Judicial District Court in downtown, Las Vegas.
- Restraining orders for stalking, harassment, harm to minors, or sexual assault. People who wish to get a TPO (temporary protective order) for domestic violence must apply through Family Court
- Small claims cases of up to $10,000
- Civil matters of up to $15,000
Note that HJC cases may be appealed to the Eighth Judicial District Court, not the Supreme Court.
2. Is my case information online?
Yes. Go to the Henderson Justice Court case search website.
3. How do I pay fines online?
To pay traffic ticket fines, go to the HJC website. HJC accepts Visa, MasterCard, Discover, and American Express.
Otherwise, people can pay in person at the court by:
- Visa, MasterCard, or Discover credit or debit cards
- personal or company checks (unless the defendant is in warrant)
- money orders
- cashier checks
Finally, people can pay by mail through check, money order, or cashier check made payable to Henderson Justice Court. Also write the case number on the payment. The mailing address is:
Henderson Justice Court
243 S. Water Street.
Henderson, NV 89015
4. What if I cannot afford the fines?
During court, ask the judge if you may do community service instead. One hour of service equals $10.
Note that the judge has to preapprove the community service request. HJC accepts service hours only from certain organizations.
5. Will I get a warrant if I miss my appearance?
In criminal cases, yes. Judges punish failure to appear (NRS 199.335) by issuing a bench warrant for the defendant’s arrest. (But there is a 30-day grace period for people who miss traffic court before a warrant will issue.) To check if you have a warrant, check the HJC warrant list, which is updated weekly.
People with outstanding bench warrants are advised to consult with an attorney immediately. The attorney will be able to file a motion to quash the warrant. And in most cases, the attorney can appear at the warrant hearing without the defendant having to show up (and risk getting arrested).
If a person misses court in a civil case, then the person risks having a default judgment taken out against him/her.
6. Do I have to pay for parking?
No. Next to the courthouse at 235 Water Street is a free parking deck.
7. If I do not live in Nevada, do I still have to come to court?
Out-of-state defendants should contact a local Las Vegas or Henderson criminal defense attorney to discuss their options. Most defendants who hire a lawyer never have to travel back to state to appear in court unless the case goes to preliminary hearing or trial.
8. How do I get a public defender?
HJC defendants who cannot afford to hire their own criminal defense attorney will be appointed a public defender from the Clark County Public Defenders Office.
Private attorneys have a lot more time and resources than public defenders to devote to each case. In many cases, defendants are never able to reach their public defenders by phone. So defendants are encouraged to retain their own lawyer if at all possible. Private counsel increases the chances of getting charges reduced or dismissed.
9. Are there translators in the courtroom?
Non-English speakers must call the District Court Interpreter’s Office ahead of time at (702) 455-4279 to reserve an interpreter.
10. Is there a dress code?
As with all Nevada courts, people are advised to dress conservatively. No shorts, tank tops, offensive t-shirts, or bare feet are allowed. Hats must be taken off.
11. Is there anything else I should know?
Turn off all cell phones before entering the courtroom. Do not bring in any food, drinks, or chewing gum. Never try to communicate with an in-custody defendant – that is a crime. And do not bring any weapons to court – everyone goes through a metal detector at the entrance.
Defendants suffering from COVID-19 can call the clerk at 702-455-7951 to try to reschedule their court appearance.
12. Can I seal my records?
Every case that resolves in HJC is sealable eventually. There is a waiting period to seal convictions. But there is no waiting period to seal cases that get dismissed. Note that certain serious cases that get transferred to District Court are unsealable.
|Conviction in Nevada||
Waiting period for a record seal
(after the case closes)
|Misdemeanors (with some exceptions – see below)||1 year|
|Gross misdemeanors, category E felonies, and misdemeanor battery, harassment, stalking, or violation of a protection order||2 years|
|Category D felonies, category C felonies, or category B felonies (with some exceptions – see below)||5 years|
|Misdemeanor DUI and battery domestic violence||7 years|
|Category A felonies, burglary of a residence, and felony crimes of violence||10 years|
|Certain sex crimes, crimes against children, invasion of the home with a deadly weapon, and felony DUI.||Never|
The record seal process takes months and a lot of paperwork. An attorney is recommended to manage the process.
- Henderson Justice Court official website
- Clark County record sealing information
- HJC Protection Orders
- HJC fee schedule
- Clark County Code
- Clark County District Attorney
- Henderson Jail general information
- VINE for victims of crimes
- Clark County Law Library