Getting arrested for DUI does not mean you will be convicted. Police misconduct, defective breathalyzers and crime lab mistakes may be enough to get your charges lessened or dismissed. Visit our page on Nevada DUI Laws to learn more.
No. Call the clerk’s office at (775) 738-8403 for the most current docket information.
Currently, arraignments for people with last names starting with A-K are Wednesdays at 8:30 AM in Department A on the main level. For last names starting with L-Z, arraignments are Wednesdays at 1:30 PM in Department B in the basement. And traffic citation arraignments are done on Mondays at 8:30 AM – go to the clerks office by following the blue footprints.
3. Can I pay fines online?
Yes. Go to the EJC website. The website accepts Visa, MasterCard, and Discover.
Otherwise, people may make payments over the phone at (775) 738-8403.
Finally, people can pay in person or by mail at:
Elko Justice Court
PO Box 176
Elko, NV 89801
Acceptable forms of payment are:
Cash (only in person)
Visa, MasterCard, or Discover credit or debit cards
4. What if I cannot make a fine payment?
Contact the clerk at (775) 738-8403 to ask for a continuance. Alternatively, the judge may agree to let defendants performcommunity service instead. One hour of work equals $10. But the judge must give permission before the defendant can do community service in lieu of paying fines.
5. Will I get a bench warrant if I miss my hearing?
Yes, if it is a criminal matter (though there is a 30-day grace period for missing a traffic appearance). People with an outstanding bench warrant are vulnerable to getting arrested at any time. Therefore, they should contact an Elko criminal defense attorney right away to file a motion to quash the warrant. In many cases, defendants do not have to appear personally at the warrant hearing as long as their attorney is present.
Note that criminal defendants usually never have to appear personally in the courtroom – such as at arraignments – as long as they have an attorney appearing on their behalf. Two exceptions are preliminary hearings and trials.
Missing civil courtroom appearances (such as small claims) may result in the judge handing down a default judgment against the absent party.
6. May I get a public defender?
Defendants facing criminal charges will be appointed a public defender if they cannot afford their own attorney.
7. Where do I park?
There is plenty of free parking across from the courthouse.
8. How should I dress?
Do not wear anything revealing, such as shorts or tank tops. Avoid wearing t-shirts with offensive words or imagery. Shoes are required. And hats and sunglasses must be removed before entering the courtroom.
Due to COVID-19, face coverings are required.
9. Can I carry my weapons with me?
No. Firearms are not allowed in the courthouse. There is a metal detector at the entrance.
10. What if I do not speak English?
You may bring a friend or family member with you to translate. Otherwise, you can call the clerk at (775) 738-8403 to see if they can arrange for an interpreter.
11. Can I seal my criminal records?
Most convictions can be sealed eventually. And dismissed charges may be sealed right away.
Conviction in Nevada
Waiting period for a record seal after the case closes