In this section, our attorneys explain Nevada’s criminal laws and legal concepts, A to Z
Criminal Defense » How much does it cost to seal my criminal record in Nevada?
For people who still wish to pursue a record seal on their own, the average cost breakdown in Las Vegas Justice Court is as follows:
Nevada record sealing task
Estimated costs in Las Vegas Justice Court
|Obtaining criminal history (“SCOPE”) from Las Vegas Metropolitan Police Department||$10|
|Obtaining criminal history from Nevada Department of Public Safety||$23.50|
|Fingerprinting service||The going rate is about $25, depending on the company|
|Filing Petition and Order to Seal Records with Las Vegas Justice Court||$74|
|Obtaining four certified copies of signed Order to Seal (more or less may be needed)||$12 ($3 per copy)|
|Postage for mailing out Order to Seal to various government agencies||$3.57 ($1.19 per envelope)|
Note that convictions of the following crimes generally can never be sealed in Nevada:
Otherwise, criminal records can be sealed one to ten years after the case ends, depending on the offense. Note that cases that get dismissed (meaning there is no conviction) are sealable right away.
A former Los Angeles prosecutor, attorney Neil Shouse graduated with honors from UC Berkeley and Harvard Law School (and completed additional graduate studies at MIT). He has been featured on CNN, Good Morning America, Dr Phil, Court TV, The Today Show and Court TV. Mr Shouse has been recognized by the National Trial Lawyers as one of the Top 100 Criminal and Top 100 Civil Attorneys.
With the exception of extremely violent crimes, you might be able to escape prosecution in Nevada if enough time has passed since you committed the offense. The majority of Nevada crimes have statutes of limitations, which spell out a time limit during which a D.A. may press charges for it. Whenever a prosecutor files charges ...
The Ambien defense is a legal defense to charges of driving under the influence of drugs (DUID). The defense is largely based on the fact that some prescription drugs and sleeping medications (such as Ambien) can put a person in a trance similar to sleepwalking. When this happens and a person is driving it is ...
Anyone who is legally allowed to possess a firearm may open carry in Nevada. People do not need a permit or a license to open carry in Nevada. And it does not matter whether they live in- or out-of-state. A permit is required only for conceal carry. Open carry v. concealed carry Open carry is ...
It is not a crime to possess animated child pornography in California, as long as no children were used to produce it. California’s “child pornography” laws exist to protect against the exploitation of actual children. They prohibit possession or production of any matter that: Depicts actual or simulated sexual conduct, By a person under 18 years ...