Getting arrested for DUI does not mean you will be convicted. Police misconduct, defective breathalyzers and crime lab mistakes may be enough to get your charges lessened or dismissed. Visit our page on Nevada DUI Laws to learn more.
Nevada’s grand larceny penalties depend on the value of the stolen property:
Grand theft of $1,200 to less than $5,000 is a category D felony punishable by 1 to 4 years in prison and up to $5,000 in fines plus restitution.
Grand theft of $5,000 to less than $25,000 is a category C felony punishable by 1 to 5 years in prison and up to $10,000 in fines plus restitution.
Grand theft of $25,000 to less than $100,000 is a category B felony punishable by 1 to 10 years in prison and up to $10,000 in fines plus restitution.
Grand theft of $100,000 or more is a category B felony punishable by 1 to 20 years in prison and up to $15,000 in fines plus restitution.1
Note that stealing a firearm is always prosecuted as a category B felony, no matter the gun’s value. Penalties for “grand larceny of a firearm” include 1 to 10 years in prison and up to $10,000 in fines plus restitution.2
Also note that stealing a motor vehicle is always a felony, no matter the car’s worth. A first-time conviction of “grand larceny of a motor vehicle” is a category C felony carrying 1 to 5 years in prison and up to $10,000 plus restitution. And successive convictions are category B felonies, punishable by 1 to 6 years in prison and up to $5,000 in fines plus restitution.3
What is grand larceny in Nevada?
Also called grand theft, grand larceny is intentionally stealing cash or property worth $1,200 or more. Examples of grand theft include shoplifting, taking furniture from hotel rooms, or stealing pets or livestock.4
How is the value of property determined?
In shoplifting cases, the value of the property is the sticker price that the store used. In other cases – such as stealing items from someone’s home or office – courts will attribute the highest reasonable value to the property.5
How can I fight the charges?
Ten potential defenses to Nevada grand larceny charges are:
You were falsely accused;
You did not intentionally take the property (such as forgetting to pay at the register);
The owner consented to you taking possession of the property.
You were the victim of mistaken identity (such as being wrongly chosen out of a lineup).
You were never in actual or constructive possession of the property.
Typical evidence in grand larceny cases includes video surveillance video, eyewitness accounts, recorded communications, and the allegedly stolen property itself. If the case goes to trial and the district attorney fails to prove guilt beyond a reasonable doubt, the charge should be dismissed.
How long does grand larceny stay on my record?
Grand larceny convictions cannot be sealed for the first five years after the case ends. But if the charge gets dismissed, then the criminal record can be sealed right away.6
A former Los Angeles prosecutor, attorney Neil Shouse graduated with honors from UC Berkeley and Harvard Law School (and completed additional graduate studies at MIT). He has been featured on CNN, Good Morning America, Dr Phil, The Today Show and Court TV. Mr Shouse has been recognized by the National Trial Lawyers as one of the Top 100 Criminal and Top 100 Civil Attorneys.
Different states have their own “felony-theft” threshold, which refers to how much property (as measured in terms of a dollar value) a person must steal for a prosecutor to charge the offense as a felony (as opposed to a misdemeanor). For example, California law states that people commit felony theft (or grand theft) if they ...
The 5 most common punishments for the crime of shoplifting include: a fine, placement in a diversion program, paying restitution, misdemeanor probation, and jail time. While people caught shoplifting for the first time will likely receive a punishment that is early on this list, offenders guilty of multiple shoplifting charges, or offenders that shoplift a ...
No, there is no looting statute in the state of Colorado. Instead, suspected looters may instead face charges of theft or robbery depending on the circumstances. Looting typically occurs during natural disasters, a state of emergency, and rioting. Sometimes people loot during otherwise peaceful protests. A recent example from throughout the United States are the ...
Auto theft in Colorado is prosecuted as aggravated motor vehicle theft (CRS 18-4-409). Currently, Colorado has the third highest rate of auto thefts in the nation.1 And many counties have law enforcement task forces in partnership with the Colorado State Patrol to catch and prevent organized auto theft crimes.2 What if I get caught stealing ...