Getting arrested for DUI does not mean you will be convicted. Police misconduct, defective breathalyzers and crime lab mistakes may be enough to get your charges lessened or dismissed. Visit our page on Nevada DUI Laws to learn more.
Are prostitution and solicitation the same thing in Nevada?
Nevada law draws no distinction between prostitution (trading sex acts for a fee) and solicitation (offering or accepting to trade sex acts for a fee). And penalties are the same whether or not any sex took place or cash changed hands.1
The majority of prostitution arrests occur in bars or public restrooms where a suspected hooker or john is caught in the act of solicitation by an undercover officer.2
Sex workers convicted of prostitution face maximum penalties of $1,000 in fines and/or six months in jail. But if the sex worker knows she has HIV, then soliciting prostitution is a category B felony punishable by two to 10 years in Nevada State Prison and/or $10,000 in fines.
Meanwhile, the penalties for “johns” increases with each successive conviction:
Number of offenses
Nevada penalties for customers soliciting prostitution
First time offense
Fines of up to $1,000 and/or up to 6 months in jail,
A former Los Angeles prosecutor, attorney Neil Shouse graduated with honors from UC Berkeley and Harvard Law School (and completed additional graduate studies at MIT). He has been featured on CNN, Good Morning America, Dr Phil, The Today Show and Court TV. Mr Shouse has been recognized by the National Trial Lawyers as one of the Top 100 Criminal and Top 100 Civil Attorneys.