NRS § 453.337 and NRS § 453.338 are the Nevada drug laws that make it “unlawful for a person to possess for the purpose of sale any controlled substance.” Most charges are filed as a Category D felony punishable by 1 to 4 years in state prison and up to $5000.00 in fines.
Drug possession with intent to sell is always a felony. The exact sentencing depends on the type of drug and the quantity. The court may grant probation instead of prison for a first-time conviction.
Prosecutors may reduce the charges if they cannot prove the drugs were meant to be sold. If the police found the drugs through an illegal search, the case may get dismissed completely.
In this article, our Las Vegas criminal defense attorneys answer frequently asked questions about possessing drugs with the intention to sell in Nevada:
- 1. What is the definition of “possession for sale” in Nevada?
- 2. How do prosecutors prove “intent to sell”?
- 3. What drugs are prohibited?
- 4. What are the defenses?
- 5. What are the penalties?
- 6. Can the charges be dismissed?
- 7. Can I get the record sealed?
- 8. Will I be deported?
- 9. Related crimes
- 10. Do I need an attorney?
Possession for sale is having a controlled substance with the intention of selling it. Therefore, NRS 453.337 and NRS 453.338 prohibits drug sales that have not taken place yet and might never take place.
Possession for sale also goes by the names “possession for purpose of sale” and “PCSWITS” — short for possession of a controlled substance with intent to sell.
For information about marijuana specifically, read our article on marijuana possession for sale.
Prosecutors rely on circumstantial evidence to show you intended to sell drugs. Six common indicators of “intent to sell” include:
- You stored the drugs in “ready to sell” pre-measured quantities in separate containers or baggies.
- You were carrying a firearm, presumably to protect yourself should the drug deal go wrong.
- You had a large amount of drugs, more than what most recreational users keep.
- You were not high and had no drug paraphernalia, which could indicate you were a seller and not a user.
- You carried a lot of cash — especially small bills — which could indicate illegal sales.
- You were found in an area that was known for drug deals.2
Certainly, none of these circumstances alone prove that you intended to sell drugs. There can be innocent explanations for all of them. Though police do use these indicators to decide whether to arrest you for possession for personal use or possession for sale.
Nevada law prohibits possession of any controlled substance for the purpose of selling it. There are five schedules (categories) of controlled substances in the U.S.3
The best way to fight charges of “possession for sale” in Nevada depends on the circumstances of the case. Common defenses include:
- The drugs belonged to someone else;
- You had no intention of selling the drugs; or
- The police conducted an illegal search
4.1. The drugs belonged to someone else
In the heat of a drug raid, police may arrest innocent people who were at the wrong place at the wrong time. Perhaps you were just a friend of the actual drug dealer. Or perhaps you were looking to buy the drugs, not sell them.
Typical evidence in these cases includes eyewitness accounts and surveillance video. If there is insufficient proof that you possessed the drugs, the case may be dropped.
4.2. You had no intention of selling the drugs
“Intent to sell” is an intangible concept that is hard to prove. Whereas an actual drug sale can be witnessed and recorded, intent to sell drugs is all about your mental state. As discussed above in section 2, prosecutors rarely have direct evidence to back up a possession for sale charge.
Therefore, the defense attorney would try to show that there is “reasonable doubt” that you were planning to make a sale. If the prosecutors agree that their case is too weak, they may reduce the possession for sale charge down to possession for personal use.
4.3. The police conducted an illegal search
Under the Fourth Amendment, the police must follow strict guidelines when searching people, vehicles, and homes. Whenever police find evidence from an illegal search, you can file a motion to suppress with the court. This motion asks the court to disregard (“suppress”) any evidence that the police obtained illegally.
If the court grants the motion to suppress, the state may have too little evidence left to prosecute. The state may then agree to reduce the charges or drop the case completely.
Nevada’s punishment for possession for sale depends on the drug’s schedule and your criminal history. Probation with no prison time may be possible for a first-time offense.4
Nevada penalties for possession for sale
|Schedule I, |
Category D felony:
3rd or subsequent offense
|Schedule III, |
Schedule IV, or
1st or 2nd offense
Category D felony
3rd or subsequent offense
Category C felony:
|*The court may grant probation or a suspended sentence instead of prison. |
^The court may only grant probation if mitigating circumstances exist.
Note that possession of drug paraphernalia with the intent to sell it is a category E felony. Category E felony convictions carry probation and a suspended sentence. (Though if you have two or more prior felony convictions, the court may impose one to four years in Nevada State Prison and up to $5,000 in fines.)5
Prosecutors may agree to dismiss a possession for sale charge if the defense attorney can show that the state’s case is weak. (Scroll up to section 4 for common defense strategies.)
Alternatively, prosecutors may agree to reduce the charge down to possession for personal use. This is typically a category E felony with no jail time for a first offense.
Another option is for prosecutors to reduce the charge down to a misdemeanor under NRS 454.351. As long as you complete all the sentencing terms such as community service, the judge will not impose jail.
Possession for sale convictions may be sealed five years after the case ends. The waiting period may be shorter if the case gets reduced to a lesser charge. If the case gets dismissed, no wait is required.6
Drug crime conviction
Record seal waiting period in Nevada
|Misdemeanor||1 year after the case ends|
|Category E felony||2 years after the case ends|
|Category D felony, |
Category C felony, or
Category B felony
|5 years after the case ends|
|No conviction (dismissal)||Immediately|
Learn about how to get a Nevada record seal.
Drug possession for sale is a deportable offense. It makes no difference if the drug was only marijuana.7
Any non-citizen charged with a narcotics offense should retain a lawyer right away. Getting the charge reduced or dismissed may be the immigrant’s only way to stay in the U.S.
Possession under NRS 453.366 is simply having drugs for personal use. It is the least serious drug crime in Nevada, and you can usually avoid jail as a first-time offender. However, a conviction can cause potential employers to pass you over for a job.
Nevada’s second-most serious drug offense is selling narcotics under NRS 453.321. Selling comprises trading the drugs for anything of value, including cash, jewelry, or other property. In some cases, you may be granted probation instead of prison as a first-time offender.
Trafficking in Nevada comprises any act involving big quantities of schedule I or II drugs, GHB or Rohypnol, even possession for personal use. Trafficking carries the toughest penalties and highest fines of any drug offense. Even then, if you agree to be an informant, you might be able to avoid incarceration. Read more about trafficking narcotics (NRS 453.3385).
Anyone accused of a drug crime in Nevada should fight it since the stakes are so high. The best offense is a good defense attorney challenging the state’s evidence and wearing the prosecutors down.
If you have been arrested for a drug offense in Nevada, call our Nevada drug lawyers. We may be able to persuade the state to reduce or dismiss the charge so you stay out of jail and your record remains clear.
¿Habla español? Obtener información acerca de las leyes de Nevada sobre posesión de drogas para la venta.
Arrested in California? See our article on Health & Safety Code 11351 HS.
- NRS 453.337. Unlawful possession for sale of flunitrazepam, gamma-hydroxybutyrate and schedule I or II substances; penalties.
1. Except as otherwise authorized by the provisions of NRS 453.011 to 453.552, inclusive, it is unlawful for a person to possess for the purpose of sale flunitrazepam, gamma-hydroxybutyrate, any substance for which flunitrazepam or gamma-hydroxybutyrate is an immediate precursor or any controlled substance classified in schedule I or II.
2. Unless a greater penalty is provided in NRS 453.3385 or 453.339, a person who violates this section shall be punished: (a) For the first offense, for a category D felony as provided in NRS 193.130. (b) For a second offense, or if, in the case of a first conviction of violating this section, the offender has previously been convicted of a felony under the Uniform Controlled Substances Act or of an offense under the laws of the United States or any state, territory or district which, if committed in this State, would amount to a felony under the Uniform Controlled Substances Act, for a category C felony as provided in NRS 193.130. (c) For a third or subsequent offense, or if the offender has previously been convicted two or more times of a felony under the Uniform Controlled Substances Act or of any offense under the laws of the United States or any state, territory or district which, if committed in this State, would amount to a felony under the Uniform Controlled Substances Act, for a category B felony by imprisonment in the state prison for a minimum term of not less than 3 years and a maximum term of not more than 15 years, and may be further punished by a fine of not more than $20,000 for each offense.
3. Except as otherwise provided in this subsection, unless mitigating circumstances exist that warrant the granting of probation, the court shall not grant probation to or suspend the sentence of a person convicted of violating this section and punishable pursuant to paragraph (b) or (c) of subsection 2. The court shall not grant probation to or suspend the sentence of a person convicted of violating this section, even if mitigating circumstances exist that would otherwise warrant the granting of probation, if the person violated this section by possessing flunitrazepam, gamma-hydroxybutyrate or any substance for which flunitrazepam or gamma-hydroxybutyrate is an immediate precursor.
NRS 453.338. Unlawful possession for sale of substances classified in schedule III, IV or V; penalties.
1. Except as authorized by the provisions of NRS 453.011 to 453.552, inclusive, it is unlawful for a person to possess for the purpose of sale any controlled substance classified in schedule III, IV or V.
2. A person who violates this section shall be punished: (a) For the first and second offense, for a category D felony as provided in NRS 193.130, and may be further punished by a fine of not more than $10,000. (b) For a third or subsequent offense, or if the offender has been previously convicted two or more times of a felony under the Uniform Controlled Substances Act or of any offense under the laws of the United States or any state, territory or district which, if committed in this State, would amount to a felony under the Uniform Controlled Substances Act, for a category C felony as provided in NRS 193.130.
3. Unless mitigating circumstances exist that warrant the granting of probation, the court shall not grant probation to or suspend the sentence of a person convicted of violating this section and punishable under paragraph (b) of subsection 2.
- See, for example, State v. Stinnett, 104 Nev. 398, 760 P.2d 124 (1988). Also see Figueroa-Beltran v. United States, 136 Nev. Adv. Op. 45 (2020) (“the identity of a substance is an element of the crime described in NRS 453.337, such that each schedule I or II controlled substance simultaneously possessed with the intent to sell constitutes a separate offense.”).
- DEA Drug Scheduling.
- NRS 453.337; NRS 453.338.
- NRS 453.560.
- NRS 179.245; NRS 179.255.
- 8 U.S.C. § 1227.