Getting arrested for DUI does not mean you will be convicted. Police misconduct, defective breathalyzers and crime lab mistakes may be enough to get your charges lessened or dismissed. Visit our page on Nevada DUI Laws to learn more.
Nevada law permits adults (21 and up) to possess a maximum of 1/8 oz. of concentrated cannabis for personal use. People may not sell it unless they are licensed dealers.
Concentrated cannabis is extracted from marijuana. Therefore, it is more potent than marijuana. That is why people may lawfully possess an ounce of marijuana but just 1/8 an ounce of concentrated cannabis.
There are several types of concentrated cannabis, including:
Wax (shatter, crumble, or honeycomb)
Budder or Badder
Pull and Snap
No cannabis zones
The only place people may possess and use their concentrated cannabis is a private home. Hotel rooms and dorm rooms do not count as private homes. It is expected that licensed “social lounges” will soon open in Nevada where people may legally use.
Possessing more than 1/8 oz. – but less than 1 lb. – for personal use (NRS 453.336)
1st or 2nd offense
Category E felony:
Courts grant eligible defendants who plead guilty or no contest a deferral of judgment, which means the charge will get dismissed if the defendant completes various court-ordered sentencing terms.
Otherwise, category E felony convictions carry probation and a suspended sentence, with a possible jail sentence of up to 1 year. (But if the defendant has two or more prior felony convictions, the court may order one to four years of Nevada State Prison and a maximum of $5,000 in fines.)
A former Los Angeles prosecutor, attorney Neil Shouse graduated with honors from UC Berkeley and Harvard Law School (and completed additional graduate studies at MIT). He has been featured on CNN, Good Morning America, Dr Phil, The Today Show and Court TV. Mr Shouse has been recognized by the National Trial Lawyers as one of the Top 100 Criminal and Top 100 Civil Attorneys.