In this section, our attorneys explain Nevada’s criminal laws and legal concepts, A to Z
Domestic Violence » How much is bail after a Las Vegas battery domestic violence (BDV) arrest?
It depends on the specific charge of battery domestic violence (NRS 200.485). The Las Vegas Justice Court “bail schedule” for BDV charges is below:
Battery domestic violence (BDV) charge in Nevada
Bail in Las Vegas Justice Court
|BDV with a deadly weapon but no substantial bodily harm (category B felony)||$10,000|
|BDV-3rd or subsequent offense (category B felony)||$15,000|
|BDV causing substantial bodily harm but with no deadly weapon (category B felony)||$15,000|
|BDV with strangulation (category C felony)||$15,000|
|BDV with a deadly weapon and substantial bodily harm (category B felony)||$20,000|
Yes. Defendants can request a bail hearing to ask the judge for a reduction or elimination of the bail. At the hearing, the defense attorney would present arguments for why the judge should lower the amount. And the prosecutor would argue for the bail to remain the same.
Releasing a defendant without bail is called an OR release (short for “own recognizance”). But OR releases are very rare in BDV cases.
Defendants who cannot afford to pay bail or to hire a bail bondsman will remain in custody pending the outcome of the case.
Go to the CCDC at:
330 S. Casino Center Blvd.
Las Vegas, NV 89101
The Pre-trial services window is open around the clock. It accepts:
Alternatively, people can hire a bail bondsman to post bond. Bail bondsmen usually charge a fee that amounts to 15% of the entire bond amount.
Learn more about Las Vegas Justice Court bail schedules and procedures.
Once the criminal case is over, the court “exonerates the bond.” This means the court returns the bail money. If the defendant used a bondsman, the court returns the money to the bondsman.
Note that courts return bail money no matter how the case ends. Whether the defendant is acquitted or convicted, the bail eventually gets returned after the case resolves.
It depends on the circumstances of the case. Common defenses include:
If the “victim” recants his/her story, the D.A. will continue prosecuting the defendant. But if the case reaches trial and the victim does not show, the D.A. may be forced to drop the charge for lack of proof.
A former Los Angeles prosecutor, attorney Neil Shouse graduated with honors from UC Berkeley and Harvard Law School (and completed additional graduate studies at MIT). He has been featured on CNN, Good Morning America, Dr Phil, Court TV, The Today Show and Court TV. Mr Shouse has been recognized by the National Trial Lawyers as one of the Top 100 Criminal and Top 100 Civil Attorneys.
There are at least five situations where domestic violence is a felony in California. Felony charges under Penal Code 273.5 could be filed if a person: inflicts corporal injury resulting in a traumatic condition upon an intimate partner, commits DV and has certain prior battery convictions within 7 years, commits DV and has a prior domestic ...
In specific circumstances, you can avoid criminal liability for carrying a concealed weapon in California without a permit by showing that you are in grave danger from another person. California’s concealed carry law, Penal Code 25400 PC, makes it a crime for most people to carry a concealed firearm on their person or in their vehicle, ...
If you’ve been arrested and charged with domestic violence in Henderson, Nevada, you may be scared, in shock, or physically hurt. During such times, it’s important to try to think clearly and take some steps that can go a long way towards protecting yourself, your rights, and your future. While the circumstances of your Henderson domestic violence ...
Domestic violence is not its own criminal offense in Colorado. Instead, it is an enhancement that increases the penalties of any other crimes where the accused and victim are – or were – in an intimate relationship. Whether a domestic violence-related crime is a felony depends on that underlying crime. Which domestic violence-related crimes are ...