Getting arrested for DUI does not mean you will be convicted. Police misconduct, defective breathalyzers and crime lab mistakes may be enough to get your charges lessened or dismissed. Visit our page on Nevada DUI Laws to learn more.
Immigrating to the U.S. is a gauntlet of forms, rules and interviews. But our attorneys are committed to making the process as quick and easy for you as possible. Visit our page on Nevada immigration laws to learn more.
In general, the fee to reinstate a Nevada driver’s license following a DUI is $120 plus a $35 victim fee. For non-DUI cases, the Nevada DMV license reinstatement fee is $75. And if the person has to retake a driving knowledge and skills test, there is an additional fee of $10.1
Note that these administrative DMV fees are separate and apart from any related criminal fines.
What are the fees to reinstate a CDL in Nevada?
Depending on the circumstances, the fee to reinstate a Nevada commercial driver’s license is $110 or $145. In DUI cases, there is an additional victim fee of $35. Finally, there is a $13 fee for a clearance letter.2
What form of payment does the Nevada DMV accept?
People can pay for a driver’s license reinstatement in Nevada by:
Why do driver’s licenses get suspended in Nevada?
Nine common reasons that trigger a Nevada driver’s license suspension are:
Driving under the influence. This occurs when the driver is 1) impaired by drugs or alcohol, 2) has a blood alcohol level of 0.08% or higher, or 3) has an illegal amount of controlled substances in his/her blood.
Demerit points. The DMV automatically suspends a driver’s license if the driver accrues 12 or more demerit points in one year. (Each moving violation carries a certain number of points.)
Failure to pay child support. Non-custodial parents who are late to pay child support face a license suspension.
No insurance. A conviction of failure to maintain automobile insurance will trigger a license suspension.
Pedestrian or bicyclist knockdown. Drivers who crash into a pedestrian or cyclist face a license suspension.
Certain juvenile crimes. People under 18 face a license suspension – or a delay in getting their first license – for certain alcohol, drug, and gun crimes.
Graffiti. Graffiti convictions trigger a license suspension.
Street racing. People can lose their license if they participate in or organize an unauthorized speed contest.4
What does Senate Bill 219 do?
Prior to October 1, 2021, Nevada courts could require the DMV to suspend defendants’ driver’s licenses if they are delinquent on certain fines, fees, and restitution payments. Now, courts no longer have that authority.
In addition, the DMV must automatically reinstate driver’s licenses suspended due to non-payment of fines, fees, and restitution payments. And this reinstatement is free to license-holders. The DMV will notify affected license-holders that their license has been reinstated.5
How do I fight a license suspension?
Before the Nevada DMV suspends a person’s license, it will notify him/her by mail. At that point, the person can request a DMV hearing to contest the suspension. Then the person may continue driving pending the hearing. (If no DMV hearing is requested, the license will be suspended on the day specified on the notification.)6
It is recommended that license-holders hire an attorney to represent them at DMV hearings. DMV hearings are actually much harder to win than criminal trials since the state has a lower burden of proof. An experienced lawyer knows the best strategies for maximizing the odds of success.
Call our law firm for legal advice. We offer free consultations.
A former Los Angeles prosecutor, attorney Neil Shouse graduated with honors from UC Berkeley and Harvard Law School (and completed additional graduate studies at MIT). He has been featured on CNN, Good Morning America, Dr Phil, The Today Show and Court TV. Mr Shouse has been recognized by the National Trial Lawyers as one of the Top 100 Criminal and Top 100 Civil Attorneys.