Getting arrested for DUI does not mean you will be convicted. Police misconduct, defective breathalyzers and crime lab mistakes may be enough to get your charges lessened or dismissed. Visit our page on Nevada DUI Laws to learn more.
The punishment for acting as an accessory to a gross misdemeanor carries:
30 days – 6 months in jail, and/or
$100 – $500 in fines.3
Being an accessory is different from being a conspirator. Whereas conspiracies consist of two or more people who agree to commit a crime, accessories act after the crime is committed and without having to agree with anyone.
About the Author
A former Los Angeles prosecutor, attorney Neil Shouse graduated with honors from UC Berkeley and Harvard Law School (and completed additional graduate studies at MIT). He has been featured on CNN, Good Morning America, Dr Phil, Court TV, The Today Show and Court TV. Mr Shouse has been recognized by the National Trial Lawyers as one of the Top 100 Criminal and Top 100 Civil Attorneys.
Some people think corpus delicti refers to a corpse, or a dead body. Not true. Corpus delicti is a Latin phrase that means body of the crime. In a theft case, stolen property is a key part of the corpus delicti. In an assault case, a broken nose might be part of the body of ...
Yes, Arizona does extradite suspected fugitives for probation violations. In practice, Arizona police typically only go after defendants who fled the state after allegedly committing felony probation violations. Defendants who flee Arizona after allegedly committing misdemeanor probation violations will likely not be extradited back to Arizona. But a bench warrant will be issued, and the ...
An Alford plea in Nevada is when a defendant in a criminal case does not admit guilt but concedes there is sufficient evidence to find him/her guilty at trial. In short, it is a guilty plea that allows the defendant to maintain his/her innocence. Purpose of Alford pleas Whenever a defendant in a Nevada ...
Nevada gun laws generally permit you to carry loaded but visible handguns in your vehicle. Handguns include smaller guns such as revolvers and pistols. But you need a current and valid CCW permit to carry a concealed handgun, whether loaded or not and no matter the location. Meanwhile, Nevada state law does not permit people to ...