Most law-abiding adults are eligible to get a carrying concealed weapons permits (CCW) in Nevada. It is illegal throughout the state to carry a concealed handgun without a permit.
The requirements for getting a CCW permit in Nevada are:
- the applicant is at least 21 years old;
- the applicant is not prohibited from possessing a firearm under Nevada or federal law; and
- the applicant has completed a pre-approved firearm safety course
Nevada residents must apply for a CCW permit through their nearest sheriff’s office. Law enforcement may take six (6) months to process the application, and the permit remains valid for five (5) years. In Las Vegas, applying for a CCW permit costs about $100, and the permit itself goes for $60.
In this article, our Las Vegas CCW attorneys answer frequently-asked-questions (faq) about how to obtain a carrying concealed firearms permit in Nevada. Click on a topic to jump to that section:
- 1. What is a “concealed firearm” in Nevada?
- 2. Am I eligible for a concealed firearms permit in Nevada?
- 3. How much does a Nevada CCW permit cost?
- 4. How long does it take to get a CCW permit in Nevada?
- 5. How long is a Nevada CCW permit good for?
- 6. How do I apply for a concealed firearm permit in Nevada?
- 7. Is my out-of-state concealed weapon permit valid in Nevada?
- 8. What is the penalty for carrying a concealed weapon without a permit in Nevada?
A “concealed firearm” is a handgun (whether loaded or unloaded) carried upon a person in such a manner as not to be discernible by ordinary observation.1 This includes handguns hidden inside an article of clothing or in a backpack, purse or other item you are carrying.
Carrying a concealed a firearm without a permit is a felony in Nevada.
You may obtain a concealed carry permit in Nevada if:
- You are 21 years of age or older;
- You are not prohibited from possessing a firearm under Nevada or federal law; and
- You have documentation of successful completion of a firearm safety course from a local law enforcement agency, college, university or national organization that certifies instructors in firearm safety or another program approved a Nevada sheriff.
Your CCW application for a Nevada permit may be denied (or your existing permit revoked) if:
- You have an outstanding arrest warrant or bench warrant (even for a traffic violation);
- You have been judicially declared incompetent or insane;
- You have been voluntarily or involuntarily admitted to a mental health facility during the preceding five (5) years;
- You are a habitual user of alcohol and/or drugs to the extent that your normal faculties are impaired, which will be presumed if:
- You have been convicted of DUI of alcohol and/or controlled substances during the previous five (5) years, or
- You have been sentenced by a court to a program of treatment for the abuse of alcohol or drugs for a Nevada drug crime;
- You are a user of drugs prohibited under federal law (including medical marijuana);
- You have been convicted of a crime involving domestic violence or stalking, or you are currently subject to a restraining order, injunction or other order for protection against domestic violence;
- You have been convicted within the previous three (3) years of a misdemeanor crime involving the use or threatened use of force;
- You have a prior felony conviction (convicted felon), unless you have received a pardon that does not restrict your right to bear arms;
- You are currently on parole or probation;
- You are a fugitive from justice;
- You have been, within the preceding five (5) years, subject to a court-ordered restriction on firearm possession as a condition to the court withholding entry of judgment or suspending your sentence for a felony conviction;
- You have made a false statement on any application for a permit or for the renewal of a permit;
- You are in the United States unlawfully or have renounced your U.S. citizenship;
- You have been discharged from the Armed Forces under dishonorable conditions; or
- The sheriff receives a detailed and reliable sworn affidavit from someone eighteen (18) or older that you have, or may have, committed an offense or engaged activity which would make you ineligible for a concealed carry permit.
You are not entitled to a refund of your CCW permit application fee if you are denied. But you have the right to appeal a denial.
The cost of a concealed carry permit depends on where in Nevada you are applying and whether you are seeking a new permit or renewal. In Las Vegas, the non-refundable application fees are:
- new application — $98.25 (includes the FBI background check)
- renewal application — $63.25
- late renewal application — $78.25
- renewal application (more than 120 days late) — $98.25
- new CCW permit — $60.00
- renewed CCW permit — $25.00
- name change — $25.00
- duplicate permit/late fee/address change — $15.00
- additional fingerprint cards for out-of-state applications: $14.00 (first card); $2.00 (each additional card)
This does not include the cost of any of the required firearms training course or necessary documentation.
By law, Nevada law enforcement has 120 days for the processing of applications and issuance of CCW permits.3
If you are applying for a renewal permit, make sure to apply at least 120 days before the expiration of your current permit in order to avoid late fees. You may begin the renewal process at any time, but no credit will be provided for unused time.
Note that you are required to take a refresher firearm qualification course and resubmit a complete application packet in person to obtain a license renewal. Your renewal application will also require new photos and fingerprints.
Nevada CCW permits remain valid for a period of five (5) years unless revoked.
Under state law, you can obtain a Nevada CCW permit application packet from your nearest sheriff’s or police station.
You will need to take a concealed firearms qualification course from a certified firearms instructor before you apply. Be sure your firearms instructor signs the certification form in the application packet. Some of these courses are:
- list of approved firearms courses in Clark County
- list of approved firearms courses in Washoe County
6.1. Las Vegas and Reno CCW application processes
In Las Vegas, the Las Vegas Metropolitan Police Department issues CCW permits. You can obtain a Las Vegas CCW permit application online or from your nearest LVMPD substation. Reno residents must obtain their CCW permits from the Washoe County Sheriff.
Complete the application but do not sign the form until instructed to do so. Completed (but unsigned) applications with supporting documents must be turned in to the sheriff or police in person.
Residents of Clark County can submit their application to the Fingerprint Bureau of the LVMPD during normal business hours: Monday – Friday, excluding holidays, from 8:00 am – 5:00 pm. The LVMPD’s fingerprint bureau is located at:
Las Vegas Metropolitan Police Headquarters400 South Martin Luther King BoulevardBuilding CLas Vegas, NV, 89106
(Corner of S. Martin Luther King Blvd & Alta Blvd)
Telephone: (702) 828-3271
In Reno and elsewhere in Washoe County, CCW applications are accepted Monday through Friday, 7:30 a.m. to 3:30 p.m. at:
Washoe County Sheriff’s Office 911 Parr Blvd. Reno, NV 89512
Telephone: (775) 328-3001
You will need to bring the following with you:
- Your completed (unsigned) application;
- Your firearms course certification (signed by the instructor);
- Debit/credit cards, cash, money order or cashier’s check for the appropriate fee;
- Proof of residency (valid driver’s license); and
- If not born in the United States (whether or not a U.S. citizen at the time), proof of citizenship in the form of a:
- naturalization certificate,
- valid U.S. passport,
- U.S. birth certificate, or
- resident alien card
Photocopies will not be accepted.
Permittees are required to carry their CCW permit and proper identification whenever they are in actual possession of a concealed firearm. They must present their ID and CCW permit if a peace officer requests it. Not doing either will subject them to a civil penalty of $25.4
If someone moves to Nevada with a reciprocal out-of-state CCW permit, he/she may use that permit for only the first sixty (60) days of living in-state. Afterward, he/she would need to get a new CCW permit issued from his/her local sheriff’s office in Nevada.5
Before using a Nevada CCW permit in another state, check with that state’s own department of public safety.
Carrying a concealed handgun in the state of Nevada without having a valid permit is a category C felony, carrying:
- one to five (1 – 5) years in Nevada State Prison, and
- maybe a fine of up to $10,000.6
Recall that a person who has a valid state permit but forgets to bring it while carrying a concealed firearm faces a $25 fine.
Note that there are certain locations that are off-limits to firearms – such as child care facilities – whether or not the person has a CCW permit. Many public buildings have metal detectors at the public entrances. Also see our article on Nevada open carry laws and Nevada gun laws.
Need an attorney in Nevada? Contact us…
If you or someone you know has been charged with a violation of Nevada’s concealed carry laws, our Las Vegas criminal defense attorneys want to help. We will fight to preserve your second amendment rights and to keep you out of jail.
To schedule your free consultation today, complete the form on this page or call us.
Also see our article about carrying concealed in casinos.
Learn about how to get a CCW permit in California.
- NRS 202.3653.
- NRS 202.3657.
- NRS 202.336.
- NRS 202.3667.
- NRS 202.3688.
- NRS 202.350.