Getting arrested for DUI does not mean you will be convicted. Police misconduct, defective breathalyzers and crime lab mistakes may be enough to get your charges lessened or dismissed. Visit our page on Nevada DUI Laws to learn more.
Reno, Nevada Hit-and-Run: Leaving the Scene Can Leave You in Big Trouble
Hit-and-run in Reno is a serious offense. The consequences of leaving an accident scene or failing to lend assistance to others who may be injured can result in stiff penalties, including jail time.
There are actually many different Reno hit-and-run laws. Whether you are charged with a misdemeanor or a felony largely depends on whether the accident involved only property damage or resulted in injury or death.
Duty to Stay at Scene, Exchange Information and Render Aid. Regardless of whether there were injuries or not, NRS 484E.030 requires that every driver involved in a Reno car accident:
give his or her name, address and the registration number (and show their license upon request) to the driver or injured occupants of the other vehicle involved in the accident
give that same information and license upon request to any police officer at the scene of the accident or who is investigating the accident; and
provide reasonable assistance to any person injured in the accident, including calling for an ambulance or otherwise getting the individual to a hospital if it is apparent that medical treatment is necessary, or if it is requested by the injured person.
If you hit a parked or unattended vehicle in Reno, you have a duty to stop and try to find the owner or else leave a written note with your name and address if you can’t. You also have a duty to inform the police about the accident. (NRS 484E.040; NRS 484E.050).
Reno Hit-and-run Involving Property Damage Only. If the accident only involves property damage and you leave the scene and fail to exchange information, you are committing a Nevada misdemeanor. (NRS 484E.020). The penalties you can face for a Reno hit-and-run that causes only property damage include:
up to six months in jail, and/or
a fine of up to $1,000, and
six demerit points to your license.
Reno Hit-and-run Involving Injury or Death. You commit a Nevada category B felony if you flee the scene and fail to render aid after a Reno accident that causes injury or death. If convicted, you face:
a minimum term of not less than 2 years and a maximum term of not more than 15 years in prison, and
a fine of not less than $2,000 nor more than $5,000, and
possible license suspension and revocation.
There’s a saying that the cover-up is always worse than the crime. The same can be said about leaving the scene of a Reno car accident. If you are facing a Reno hit-and-run charge, you need to contact an experienced Reno criminal defense attorney who can help you avoid the serious consequences of a conviction. Please give us a call to discuss your situation. (Also refer to our article on Las Vegas hit and run laws.)
About the Author
A former Los Angeles prosecutor, attorney Neil Shouse graduated with honors from UC Berkeley and Harvard Law School (and completed additional graduate studies at MIT). He has been featured on CNN, Good Morning America, Dr Phil, The Today Show and Court TV. Mr Shouse has been recognized by the National Trial Lawyers as one of the Top 100 Criminal and Top 100 Civil Attorneys.
When a person commits a hit and run that causes only property damage, the crime is considered less serious than when it causes injury or death. Hit and run cases with only property damage are charged as misdemeanor offenses. However, hit and run with bodily injury or death is charged as a felony. Misdemeanor hit ...
California’s hit & run laws require a person involved in an accident to stop and provide identifying information to the other parties. But do drivers have to stop if they fear for their safety or the safety of a passenger? The answer largely depends on the facts of the case. 1. What are California’s hit ...
Prosecutors can generally charge you with hit and run one to three years after the date of the incident. In cases of misdemeanor hit and run, an offender typically has to be charged within one year. With felony hit and run, a suspect has to be charged within three years. In most jurisdictions, a prosecutor ...
Under Assembly Bill 184, the statute of limitations to file hit and run charges in California is now six years. AB 184 was signed into law in 2014. Prior to this signing, the SOL for a hit and run charge was three years. Under California criminal law, a statute of limitations refers to the maximum ...