Nevada Revised Statute 484E.040 makes it a misdemeanor to leave the scene of an accident that caused property damage to an unattended vehicle or other property. Hit and run damaging unattended property carries up to six months in jail and/or $1,000 in fines.
NRS 484E.040. 1. Except as otherwise provided in subsection 2, the driver of any vehicle which is involved in a crash with any vehicle or other property which is unattended, resulting in any damage to such other vehicle or property, shall immediately stop and shall then and there locate and notify the operator or owner of such vehicle or other property of the name and address of the driver and owner of the vehicle striking the unattended vehicle or other property or shall attach securely in a conspicuous place in or on such vehicle or property a written notice giving the name and address of the driver and of the owner of the vehicle doing the striking.
2. If the vehicle of a driver involved in a crash pursuant to subsection 1 is creating a hazard or obstructing traffic and can be moved safely, the driver shall, before meeting the requirements of subsection 1, move the vehicle or cause the vehicle to be moved out of the traffic lanes of the roadway to a safe location that does not create a hazard or obstruct traffic and minimizes interference with the free movement of traffic.
3. A person who violates this section is guilty of a misdemeanor.
NRS 484E.040 spells out the duties of drivers who damage other cars or property (such as a fence or mailbox) that is unattended. If the crash created a safety hazard, the driver first must move their car to an area out of the way of traffic so as not to endanger anyone’s safety.
Then the driver must try to find the owner or operator of the property in order to give them their name and address. But if no one can be found, then the driver should secure a conspicuous note to the car or property with their name and address.
Leaving the scene of an accident that damaged unattended automobiles or other property is a misdemeanor. The penalties include:
- Up to six months in county jail, and/or
- Up to $1,000 in fines1
See our related articles, 10 Critical Steps to Take After a Nevada Car Accident, NRS 484E.010 | Hit and Run with Injury, NRS 484E.020 | Hit and Run with Property Damage, NRS 484E.030 | Hit and Run without Exchanging Information.
- NRS 484E.040 – Duty upon damaging unattended vehicle or other property; penalty. See also Merluzzi v. Larson, (1980) 96 Nev. 409, 610 P.2d 739.
The full text of the statute reads as follows: