Nevada Revised Statute 484E.030 makes it a misdemeanor to leave the scene of an accident without first exchanging names, addresses, and registration numbers with the other involved drivers. Hit and run carries up to six months in jail and/or $1,000 in fines.
NRS 484E.030. 1. The driver of any vehicle involved in a crash resulting in injury to or death of any person or damage to any vehicle or other property which is driven or attended by any person shall:
(a) Give his or her name, address and the registration number of the vehicle the driver is driving, and shall upon request and if available exhibit his or her license to operate a motor vehicle to any person injured in such crash or to the driver or occupant of or person attending any vehicle or other property damaged in such crash;
(b) Give such information and upon request manually surrender such license to any police officer at the scene of the crash or who is investigating the crash; and
(c) Render to any person injured in such crash reasonable assistance, including the carrying, or the making of arrangements for the carrying, of such person to a physician, surgeon or hospital for medical or surgical treatment if it is apparent that such treatment is necessary, or if such carrying is requested by the injured person.
2. If no police officer is present, the driver of any vehicle involved in such crash after fulfilling all other requirements of subsection 1 and NRS 484E.010, insofar as possible on his or her part to be performed, shall forthwith report such crash to the nearest office of a police authority or of the Nevada Highway Patrol and submit thereto the information specified in subsection 1.
3. A person who violates this section is guilty of a misdemeanor.
NRS 484E.030 outlines the duties drivers must carry out following a car accident in Nevada:
- Exchanging names, addresses, and registration numbers with the other involved drivers
- Showing your driver’s license upon request by the other drivers (and the police, if on the scene)
- Rendering “reasonable assistance” to anyone who needs help
- Reporting the crash to the Nevada DMV if the police do not arrive at the scene (filing a report is not necessary if there are no injuries and less than $750 in property damage)
Violating NRS 484E.030 by leaving the scene of an accident, failing to exchange information, or failing to report an accident when necessary is a misdemeanor. The penalties include:
- Up to six months in county jail, and/or
- Up to $1,000 in fines1
Misdemeanor convictions can be sealed from the defendant’s criminal record one year after the case closes. But if the charge gets dismissed, then the record can be sealed immediately.2
See our related articles, 10 Critical Steps to Take After a Nevada Car Accident, NRS 484E.010 | Hit and Run with Injury, NRS 484E.020 | Hit and Run with Property Damage, and NRS 484E.040 | Hit and Run with Unattended Property.
- NRS 484E.030 – Duty to give information and render aid; report if no police officer present; penalty. See also: Horton v. Fritz, (1997) 113 Nev. 824, 942 P.2d 134, 113 Nev. Adv. Rep. 91; Firestone v. State, (2004) 120 Nev. 13, 83 P.3d 279, 120 Nev. Adv. Rep. 3.
- NRS 179.245; NRS 179.255.