Nevada Revised Statute 484E.020 makes it a misdemeanor to leave the scene of an accident that resulted only in damage to another vehicle or other property. Hit and run with property damage carries up to six months in jail and/or $1,000 in fines.
NRS 484E.020. 1. The driver of any vehicle involved in a crash resulting only in damage to a vehicle or other property which is driven or attended by any person shall:
(a) Immediately stop his or her vehicle at the scene of the crash; and
(b) If the driver’s vehicle is creating a hazard or obstructing traffic and can be moved safely, move the vehicle or cause the vehicle to be moved out of the traffic lanes of the roadway to a safe location that does not create a hazard or obstruct traffic and, if applicable, safely fulfill the requirements of NRS 484E.030.
2. A person who violates this section is guilty of a misdemeanor.
NRS 484E.020 requires Nevada drivers to stop at the scene of an accident that caused another vehicle or other property to sustain damage. Though if the driver’s car is obstructing traffic, the driver should first move to a location nearby that will not create a traffic- or safety-hazard.
During the stop, the drivers involved in the crash should exchange their names, addresses and registration numbers. If the owner of the damaged vehicle is not present, then the driver(s) who caused the damage should try to find the owner or else leave a conspicuous note with their name and address.
Leaving the scene of an accident causing property damage is a misdemeanor. The punishment is:
- Up to six months in county jail, and/or
- Up to $1,000 in fines1
See our related articles, 10 Critical Steps to Take After a Nevada Car Accident, NRS 484E.010 | Hit and Run with Injury, NRS 484E.030 | Hit and Run without Exchanging Information, and NRS 484E.040 | Hit and Run with Unattended Property.
- NRS 484E.020 – Duty to stop at scene of crash involving damage to vehicle or property; duty to move vehicle under certain circumstances; penalty. See also: Merluzzi v. Larson, (1980) 96 Nev. 409, 610 P.2d 739; U.S. v. Anderson (United States District Court for the District of Nevada, 2021) 2021 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 194145.
The full text of the statute reads as follows: