Every day innocent victims are injured or killed in Nevada auto accidents. Our attorneys can help you to get justice and compensation.
Call or Message Us 24/7
Nevada does not have a specific bus accident statute. But if an automobile collision occurs that involves a bus, the motorists involved are required to comply with Nevada Revised Statute chapter 484E.
NRS 484E.010 through 483E.130 detail drivers’ duties following any motor vehicle accident.
Following a bus crash, the drivers involved are required to stop at the scene of the accident or park as nearby as possible without blocking roadways.1 Drivers then have the duty to take these three steps:
In situations where drivers crash into an unattended vehicle or property, they have to take the following two steps:
Note that the bus driver may have additional legal and occupational duties following a crash, particularly if it was a public transportation bus.
As long as police officers were at the scene and made a report, the drivers involved do not have to file an accident report. But if police are absent, the drivers have 10 days from the date of the accident to fill out and mail an SR-1 form to the Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles at 555 Wright Way, Carson City, NV 89711. In addition to the form, the driver has to include these three documents:
People face gross misdemeanor charges for knowingly filing an accident report with false information. The penalties are up to 364 days in jail and/or up to $2,000 in fines. And the DMV can suspend the person’s license for one year for willfully failing to file a report at all.6
Filing an SR-1 form is not required if the bus crash caused no death, injuries, or $750 or more in damages.7
Fleeing the scene of an accident that resulted in an injury or fatality is a category B felony. The sentence is two to 20 years in Nevada State Prison and $2,000 to $5,000 in fines. And the judge may not allow probation or a suspended sentence in lieu of prison.8
If the Nevada bus accident caused no injuries or death, then hit and run is a misdemeanor. The punishment is up to six months in jail and/or up to $1,000 in fines.9
Depending on the circumstances, potential defendants in a Nevada bus accident claim may include:
In any case, bus accident lawyers pursue the maximum financial compensation for the victims’ medical bills, lost wages, and pain and suffering from the at fault motorist’s insurance company. But even if bus crash victims may have been partly to blame (such as by not wearing a seat belt), it still may be possible to bring a successful personal injury claim under Nevada’s comparative negligence laws.
Note that under Nevada law, bus accident victims usually have only a two-year statute of limitations to file a personal injury lawsuit. And personal injury lawyers need as much of that time as possible to craft a winning bus accident case.
Have you or a loved one been injured in a bus accident in the state of Nevada? Call our Las Vegas, NV law firm for legal advice. Our personal injury attorneys represent accident victims throughout the state.
A former Los Angeles prosecutor, attorney Neil Shouse graduated with honors from UC Berkeley and Harvard Law School (and completed additional graduate studies at MIT). He has been featured on CNN, Good Morning America, Dr Phil, Court TV, The Today Show and Court TV. Mr Shouse has been recognized by the National Trial Lawyers as one of the Top 100 Criminal and Top 100 Civil Attorneys.
The chances are pretty high that at some point you will be involved in a traffic accident in Los Angeles, California. There are some legal rules related to your rights and obligations at the scene of an accident. You should first ensure that no one is injured. If no one is injured, all parties (drivers) ...
Prosecutors can generally charge you with hit and run one to three years after the date of the incident. In cases of misdemeanor hit and run, an offender typically has to be charged within one year. With felony hit and run, a suspect has to be charged within three years. In most jurisdictions, a prosecutor ...
No. Nevada is a “fault state” for car accidents and personal injury cases in general. This means that at-fault parties – and their insurance companies – are legally obligated to pay for the injuries and damages they caused.1 How is fault determined in Nevada? Insurance companies consider all the available evidence when determining who is ...
Scroll down or go to the Records Unit and Identification Section website of the Denver Police Department (DPD). It explains the options for ordering police reports through the mail or online. Note that if you have an attorney, the attorney can usually order these reports on your behalf. Accident Reports Unless a car accident in ...