Nevada gun law generally permits the loaded carry of handguns in vehicles. Handguns include smaller guns such as revolvers and pistols. But people need a current and valid CCW permit to carry the handgun concealed, whether loaded or not and no matter the location.
Meanwhile, Nevada state law does not permit people to drive with loaded rifles or shotguns. Long-guns may have loaded magazines, but no cartridge may be in the firing chamber.1
Scroll down for more information about when and where people may carry guns in their vehicles in Nevada:
Can I drive without my guns being visible in Nevada?
Anyone carrying a concealed gun in a car needs a current and valid permit for carrying concealed weapons (CCW). But people do not need a concealed carry permit to keep their loaded handguns out of plain view somewhere in the car, such as the glove box, trunk, center console, cup holder, under the seat, or under a blanket on the backseat or passenger seat.
If the gun is hidden in a purse, backpack, bag, or piece of luggage, a person does not need a CCW permit to keep it in the car. But if the person carries the purse, etc., then a CCW permit is required. Under Nevada law, a car is not considered an extension of the home like it is in some other states.
Carrying a concealed firearm without a current and valid CCW permit is a category C felony in Nevada. The penalty includes:
- one (1) to five (5) years in Nevada State Prison, and
- $10,000 in fines2
Nevada is largely an open carry state, and people do not need Nevada permits to open carry. Learn more about open carry laws, background checks, and reciprocity for concealed firearm permits (which currently includes Idaho, Arizona, Utah, and more).
What if a policeman pulls me over?
If a driver is pulled over in Nevada, the driver has no duty to inform the police if there is a gun in the car. However, police may be able to perform a pat-down and seize a gun temporarily if the officer believes a crime has been committed or the officer’s safety is threatened.3
Note that CCW permit holders are required to show their permit if:
- They are carrying concealed, and
- The officer asks whether they are carrying concealed4
Can I have a gun in a company car in Nevada?
Private employers have their own rules about whether they allow guns on the premises, including in vehicles. Employees who violate these rules may not necessarily face criminal charges. But the company may discipline them or terminate their employment.
Either way, people who travel with guns in their vehicles are encouraged to keep them in a locked compartment not visible to others and out of reach of children.
Can I drive to school with a gun in my vehicle?
Nevada law prohibits guns, deadly weapons, and dangerous weapons at public schools, colleges, and child care facilities (with rare exception). These locations are off-limits even if the guns are safely locked in a case in the car. And it does not matter whether the gun is loaded or unloaded. People who violate this law face gross misdemeanor charges of:
- Up to $2,000 in fines, and/or
- Up to 364 days in jail5
Other locations where guns are unlawful include post offices, federal facilities, VA facilities, legislative buildings, airport secure areas, airplanes, and Hoover Dam.6
Who cannot drive with guns in Nevada?
The following people are prohibited from possessing firearms or being gun owners. It does not matter if the firearm is loaded, and it does not matter whether the person is in a motor vehicle or not:
- Convicted felons
- People convicted of domestic violence
- People convicted of stalking a family member or intimate partner
- People prohibited from having firearms according to a domestic violence restraining order
- Drug users or addicts
- Anyone adjudicated mentally ill or committed to a mental health facility by a judge
- People found not guilty due to insanity
- People who pleaded – or were found – guilty but mentally ill
- Dishonorably discharged veterans
- Undocumented aliens
- People with a blood alcohol content of 0.08% or higher
Note that minors under 18 years old usually may not carry loaded guns without supervision.7
Note that Nevada firearm laws have preemption over local laws.8
We serve Nevada residents and non-residents throughout the state of Nevada, including Las Vegas, Henderson, North Las Vegas, Reno, and more.
In California? See our article about PC 25850 – carrying a loaded firearm.
- Nevada Attorney General
- Nevada Legislature
- Nevada peace officer and sheriff departments
- Clark County Shooting Complex (rules for firearm safety and discharge of firearms)
- United States ATF (a federal law enforcement agency)
- Second Amendment (right to bear arms)
- NRS 503.165.
- NRS 202.350.
- NRS 171.123.
- NRS 202.3667.
- NRS 202.265.
- NRS 218A.905; NRS 202.265; 38 CFR 1.218(13); 39 CFR 232.1(l); 18 USC 930; 54 USC 104906; 49 CFR 1540.111; 49 USC 46505; 43 CFR 423.30.
- NRS 202.360; 18 USC 921(a)(33); NRS 202.300.
- NRS 268.418.