Getting arrested for DUI does not mean you will be convicted. Police misconduct, defective breathalyzers and crime lab mistakes may be enough to get your charges lessened or dismissed. Visit our page on Nevada DUI Laws to learn more.
10 medical conditions that can get your Nevada driver’s license suspended
Nevada DMV may suspend or restrict the driving privileges of people with medical conditions that impede their ability to drive. Ten of these conditions include:
Blindness or other vision impairment,
Deafness or other hearing impairment,
Inability to reach the gas and brake pedals without assistance,
Recurring fainting or dizzy spells,
Serious heart conditions such as myocardial infarction, angina pectoris, coronary insufficiency or thrombosis,
Rheumatic, arthritic, orthopedic, muscular, neuromuscular or vascular disease,
Limited mobility, and/or
Psychiatric disorders, such as:
personality disorders, such as borderline personality disorder
hypomania or mania, such as if the person has bipolar disorder or a schizoaffective disorder
severe depression, especially if the person cannot concentrate, is agitated, is having memory problems, causes behavioral disturbances, or is having suicidal thoughts
severe anxiety, especially if the person cannot concentrate, is agitated, is having memory problems, causes behavioral disturbances, or is having suicidal thoughts
acute psychotic disorder
Medically-restricted or revoked driver’s licenses in Nevada
Depending on the seriousness of these conditions, the DMV will take one of the following three measures:
If a doctor or family member of the person has voiced doubts to the DMV about the person’s ability to drive, the DMV may request that the person take a driving, written, and/or vision test. Depending on the results, the DMV may suspend or restrict the person’s license and require annual re-examinations.
If the medical condition causes the person to lose consciousness, the DMV will probably request that the driver surrender his/her license for 3 months. Afterward, the DMV should re-issue the person’s license (with or without restrictions) if the person can produce a doctor’s certification that he/she can drive.
If the person’s doctor believes that the person is unfit to drive, the DMV may suspend or revoke the license immediately pending any subsequent medical clearance.
Nevadans who get their driver’s license suspended have the right to contest it at a DMV hearing. It is an administrative proceeding similar to a small-scale trial, where the driver’s attorney can present evidence and cross-examine witnesses. Drivers are encouraged to bring their physicians to testify that they are well enough to drive.
Note that DMV hearings are notoriously difficult to win. This is because the state needs very little evidence in order for the administrative law judge to find against the driver. Still, it is always worth requesting a hearing because the driver has nothing to lose and everything to gain.
Other reasons that the Nevada DMV may suspend or revoke a person’s driver’s license include:
accruing 12 or more driver’s license demerit points within a year
drag racing conviction
not paying child support
not maintaining automobile or SR-22 insurance
missing a court appearance
not maintaining liability insurance, and the driver caused an accident with bodily injury or property damages in excess of $750
juveniles who are habitually truant, use firearms in a crime, or having alcohol or drugs
About the Author
A former Los Angeles prosecutor, attorney Neil Shouse graduated with honors from UC Berkeley and Harvard Law School (and completed additional graduate studies at MIT). He has been featured on CNN, Good Morning America, Dr Phil, The Today Show and Court TV. Mr Shouse has been recognized by the National Trial Lawyers as one of the Top 100 Criminal and Top 100 Civil Attorneys.
10 Years In California, a conviction for driving under the influence (DUI) stays on the defendant’s driving record for 10 years after the arrest. It cannot be removed from the driving record during that time. The record of the conviction stays on the defendant’s criminal record forever, unless it is expunged. This includes both misdemeanor ...
There are four scenarios where drunk or drugged driving is a Nevada felony. One is DUI-third, where the defendant has two prior DUI convictions in the last seven years. Another is any DUI following a felony DUI conviction. DUI causing injury or death (NRS 484C.430) is always a felony. Finally, vehicular homicide (NRS 484C.440) – a ...
Some Colorado judges give first-time DUI defendants the opportunity to get their cases dismissed via a deferred judgment in Colorado (C.R.S. 18-1.3.-102), though their criminal defense attorneys have to fight for it. Deferred judgments are like probationary periods where defendants complete various court orders – such as abstaining from alcohol and submitting to blood tests ...
Drug recognition experts (DREs) are not required to arrest people for the Colorado crime of driving under the influence of drugs (DUID) under 42-4-1301(1)(a). However, it is typical for Colorado police to involve a DRE anytime they suspect someone of driving while high. What is a drug recognition expert? Drug recognition experts are police who ...