Getting arrested for DUI does not mean you will be convicted. Police misconduct, defective breathalyzers and crime lab mistakes may be enough to get your charges lessened or dismissed. Visit our page on Colorado DUI Laws to learn more.
“Pimping” is defined in 18-7-206 of the Colorado Revised Statutes. 18-7-206 C.R.S. provides:
Any person who knowingly lives on or is supported or maintained in whole or in part by money or other thing of value earned, received, procured, or realized by any other person through prostitution commits pimping, which is a class 3 felony.
In Colorado, what we often think of pimping is actually the crime of pandering. As our Colorado criminal defense lawyers know, you commit pandering under 18-7-203 C.R.S. when, in exchange for money or something else of value, you:
The crimes of pimping and pandering are not mutually exclusive and are often charged together.
Consequences of pimping in Colorado can include:
In addition, if the violation is for 18-7-405 C.R.S. pimping of a child, you will be required to register as a Colorado sex offender.
Some of the most common defenses against pimping include (but are not limited to):
People who work as prostitutes often do so to support someone they love. Often they don’t tell the person. And even if know, sharing your life with a prostitute is not, in itself, a crime.
But Colorado police and prosecutors are often overeager to protect people from the “evils” of prostitution. As a consequence, innocent people sometimes find themselves accused of pimping.
Our Denver sex crimes attorneys understand that being accused of pimping does not make you a bad person. We don’t just pop into court to negotiate a quick plea bargain and collect our fee. We do everything we can to preserve your good name and keep you out of prison.
If you or someone you know has been accused in Colorado of pimping, we invite you to contact us for a free consultation. We also assist with bail and release at all Colorado jails, including the Fremont County Jail.
Communities we serve include Denver, Colorado Springs, Aurora, Fort Collins, Lakewood, Thornton, Arvada, Westminster, Centennial and Boulder.
In Denver, our home office is located at:
Colorado Legal Defense Group
4047 Tejon Street
Denver, CO 80211
In California? See our article on California pimping laws (PC 266h).
In Nevada? See our article about Nevada pimping laws (NRS 201.320).
The Colorado crime of reckless driving (42-4-1401 C.R.S.) is typically more dangerous than the Colorado crime of careless driving (42-4-1402). But they are both Colorado class 2 traffic misdemeanors that carry identical criminal penalties for a first-time offense: a fine of $150 to $300, and/or 10 days to 90 days in county jail People can ...
Colorado DUI laws or Colorado DWAI laws depending on the circumstances. DUI is a more serious offense than DWAI. Definition of DUI and DWAI DUI is short for “driving under the influence” of alcohol or drugs. DWAI is short while “driving while ability impaired” from alcohol or drugs. Drivers with a blood alcohol content (BAC) ...
Colorado DUIs are prosecuted as class 4 felonies in the following two situations: The defendant has three prior convictions of DUI, DUI per se, or DWAI; or The incident caused serious injury, even if the defendant has no prior DUIs 1. Fourth-time DUIs Driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs is typically a misdemeanor ...
The cost of a DUI defense attorney in Denver depends on the complexity of the case. For example, defending a felony DUI charge usually costs more than defending a misdemeanor DUI charge. For a simple first-time DUI case, most attorneys will charge between $2000.00 and $5000.00 to handle the court and DMV proceedings. What money ...