The Nevada DMV is supposed to mail license-holders a letter informing them when and why the DMV will be suspending their license. The letter will also indicate how long the license-holder has to request a DMV hearing to contest the license suspension.
If the license holder requests a DMV hearing in time, the license holder may continue driving pending the results of the DMV hearing. If the license holder does not request a DMV hearing in time (or at all), then the DMV will suspend the license on the date indicated in the letter.
Additionally, people can always call the Nevada DMV at (702) 486-4368 to check on the status of their license. Read our article on how to avoid a driver's license suspension in Nevada.
Nevada DMV Hearing
DMV hearings are administrative trials where license holders contest the DMV's decision to suspend their license. They take place at the DMV, and an administrative judge presides over the hearing.
During a DMV hearing, the license holder -- or his/her attorney -- can present evidence and cross-examine the state's witnesses. In most cases, the only state witness that appears is the police officer that originally cited or arrested the defendant for the traffic offense.
In recent years, most DMV hearings can be conducted telephonically without either the defense attorney or state witness having to appear in person.
Learn about DMV hearings in Nevada DUI cases.
Reasons for license suspensions in Nevada
There are many circumstances that may cause the Nevada DMV to temporarily revoke a person's driver's license. These include:
- accruing 12 or more demerit points within a one (1) year time-span
- a misdemeanor DUI arrest (even if the driver never gets convicted of DUI in criminal court)
- street racing
- not paying child support
- not having car insurance
- using graffiti
- missing a traffic court appearance
- habitual truancy
- juvenile possession of drugs or alcohol
- a juvenile using firearms
- a third offense of failing to properly secure a child in a car seat
- perjuring oneself to the DMV
In addition, various medical conditions can cause the DMV to suspend a person's license for safety reasons. Some of these include:
- Blindness (or any vision impairment)
- Deafness (or any other hearing impairment)
- Inability for the driver to reach the gas or brake pedals without assistance
- Frequently recurring spells of fainting or dizziness
- Grave heart conditions such as myocardial infarction or thrombosis
- Vascular disease
- Lack of mobility
- Psychiatric disorders, such as schizophrenia, severe anxiety, severe depression, or hypomania
Driving on a suspended license in Nevada
It is a misdemeanor in Nevada to drive while one's driver's license is suspended or revoked. The penalty includes:
- up to 6 months in jail; and/or
- up to $1,000 in fines
But if the reason for the suspension was a DUI arrest, then the penalties for driving on a suspended license is:
- at least 30 days of jail (or 60 days of home confinement) but no more than six (6) months in jail; and
- a fine of $500 to $1,000
Learn more about the Nevada crime of driving on a suspended license under NRS 483.560.