In this section, our attorneys explain Nevada’s criminal laws and legal concepts, A to Z
Laws » What happens at a TPO (temporary protective order) hearing in Las Vegas?
A TPO hearing in Nevada is where a purported victim asks a judge or commissioner to grant a TPO (temporary protective order) against someone else, typically an abusive ex or family member. TPOs usually last 45 days.
A TPO is short for temporary protective order against domestic violence. TPOs are short-term restraining orders that forbid the subject of the TPO from having any kind of contact with the alleged victim (and/or the victim’s child or pet). TPOs can last up to 45 days.
People who are fearing for their safety in Las Vegas are advised to contact a Nevada family law attorney experienced in how to get TPOs. The attorney can take care of all of the paperwork and guide the victims through the next steps.
Otherwise, victims can apply for a TPO at the Family Violence Intervention Office at 601 N. Pecos Rd., Las Vegas, NV, 89101. The office phone number is (702) 455-3400.
After the application for a TPO is filed, the court will quickly make one of three decisions:
The ideal situation for the victim is for the judge to grant a TPO without holding a hearing first. Note that the court has no obligation to notify the alleged abuser that a TPO is out against him/her.
A TPO hearing is like a mini-trial where the judge or commissioner listens to evidence and determines whether to grant a temporary restraining order. Depending on the case, the alleged abuser may be permitted to attend the TPO hearing and present his/her side of the case.
At the hearing, the victim or his/her attorney will present evidence to the judge claiming that the victim is fearing for his/her safety. Typical evidence includes:
If the judge allows the alleged abuser to be present, he/she or his/her attorney may argue against the TPO. Typical arguments is that the alleged victim is lying out of anger or revenge or to gain the upper hand in a child-custody battle.
Most TPO hearing last less than an hour. After considering the evidence, the judge or commissioner will then decide whether to grant the TPO.
TPO hearings occur in a courtroom at Las Vegas Family Court, located at 601 N. Pecos Road., Las Vegas, NV, 89101.
TPOs can be replaced by extended protective orders after the TPO expires. But for this to happen, the judge must hold a hearing where the alleged abuser is given the opportunity to defend him/herself.
Learn about the penalties for violating a restraining order in Nevada (NRS 33.100).
A former Los Angeles prosecutor, attorney Neil Shouse graduated with honors from UC Berkeley and Harvard Law School (and completed additional graduate studies at MIT). He has been featured on CNN, Good Morning America, Dr Phil, Court TV, The Today Show and Court TV. Mr Shouse has been recognized by the National Trial Lawyers as one of the Top 100 Criminal and Top 100 Civil Attorneys.
A new California law limits the duration minors can be placed in solitary confinement. Minors in juvenile detention centers can only be held in solitary confinement for up to 4 (four) hours, absent special circumstances. On January 1, 2018, the California State Legislature enacted specific guidelines concerning minors in solitary confinement in a juvenile detention facility. ...
Updated January 6, 2020 Yes, Colorado is a “stand your ground” state – but only with regard to dwellings and to the extent reasonably necessary to defend oneself or others. People may use physical force to defend themselves or others when either: The victim reasonably believes someone is using, or is about to use, illegal ...
If you find yourself pulled over by a Nevada police officer, the police are not violating your constitutional rights by telling you to exit your car. Irrespective of whether you think the traffic stop was justified, you are usually not within your rights to decline a police officer’s order to exit your car. We all ...
Joint and several liability in Nevada means that multiple defendants in a personal injury case can each be held individually liable for 100% of a plaintiff’s injuries. In Nevada, defendants may be jointly and severally liable only in the following cases: Nevada strict liability cases; An intentional wrongful act (such as battery); The emission, disposal ...