In this section, our attorneys explain Nevada’s criminal laws and legal concepts, A to Z
Yes, people may purchase and possess silencers in Nevada if the following five conditions are true:
Each of these conditions is discussed in more detail below.
Like it sounds, silencers help suppress the noise of a bullet discharging from a gun. Silencers slow the transition of the hot and pressurized gasses that guns produce when they fire. Silencers have expansion chambers and “baffles” to help cool and disperse the gases. This in turn reduces the noise created once the gases exit the firearm.
Although Nevada allows silencers, they are still highly regulated by the federal government under the National Firearms Act. And anyone who buys a silencer must retain proof of registration and provide it to the ATF if they request it. At this time, there are more than 900,000 privately-owned silencers registered in the U.S.
A person may purchase a suppressor if he/she is a resident of a state where suppressors are legal, which includes Nevada. Currently, silencers are lawful in the following states:
Suppressors may not be sold to people who are under 21 years old. It makes no difference if the person lives in a state that permits people under 21 to possess guns (such as Nevada).
Anyone who is prohibited from buying or possessing a firearm may not have a silencer. People who meet any of the following descriptions may not purchase firearms or silencers in Nevada:
Learn more about background checks for buying a firearm in Nevada.
People may buy and possess silencers in Nevada if they pass an ATF background check. However, this check takes approximately six to ten (6 – 10) months to process and finish.
The purpose of the ATF background check is to make sure the buyer does not meet any of the disqualifying conditions listed in the previous section. Purchasers may wish to consult with an attorney prior to buying a silencer to vet whether they would pass the ATF background check.
Silencer purchasers must pay a $200 transfer fee — also called a “tax stamp” — to the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms, & Explosives. Chances are, the silencer dealer will charge the buyer additional money to complete and mail the paperwork. On average, dealers charge extra fees of $70 to $100.
Learn more about Nevada gun laws.
A former Los Angeles prosecutor, attorney Neil Shouse graduated with honors from UC Berkeley and Harvard Law School (and completed additional graduate studies at MIT). He has been featured on CNN, Good Morning America, Dr Phil, Court TV, The Today Show and Court TV. Mr Shouse has been recognized by the National Trial Lawyers as one of the Top 100 Criminal and Top 100 Civil Attorneys.
Colorado has concealed carry reciprocity with 33 other states. This means non-residents with current and valid concealed weapons permits from one of these states may lawfully carry a concealed handgun in Colorado. Likewise, a Colorado resident with a current and valid CHP (concealed handgun permit) can lawfully carry a concealed handgun in the other 33 ...
In the November 8, 2016 general election, Nevada voters narrowly passed Ballot Question 1, requiring background checks for most private firearm transfers between unlicensed individuals (known as “private-party sales”). However, on December 28, 2016, Nevada Attorney General Adam Paul Laxalt (R) said Question 1 could not be enforced because the FBI refuses to conduct such background ...
Firearms are largely permitted in vehicles in Nevada, but CCW permits are still required for concealed carry, and long guns may not be loaded. Guns are also prohibited in the parking lots of public school grounds and federal properties such as post offices. Can I open carry in a car? Nevada is traditionally an open ...
A pardon. People who have been convicted of a felony in Nevada are no longer allowed to own or possess guns. The only way they can get their gun rights restored is to receive a pardon from the Nevada government. 1. Does a pardon help restore Nevada gun rights? Yes. Unfortunately, the only way to ...