Getting arrested for DUI does not mean you will be convicted. Police misconduct, defective breathalyzers and crime lab mistakes may be enough to get your charges lessened or dismissed. Visit our page on Nevada DUI Laws to learn more.
Scroll down for a brief overview of Nevada gun laws and links to our informational articles.
Nevada is an open carry state. This means that people who are not otherwise prohibited from possessing firearms may carry a gun as long as it is visible. Magazines do not have to be carried visibly.
In order to lawfully carry a gun in a hidden manner in Nevada, Nevada residents must have a valid, current CCW (carrying a concealed weapon) permit from the county of their residence. Out-of-state residents with valid, current CCW permits from their home state may carry concealed weapons in Nevada if their home state has reciprocity with Nevada.
Nevada no longer requires people to register their guns. And there is no limit to the number of firearms one person may possess.
It is a felony in Nevada to sell or give a gun to a fugitive, illegal alien, a mentally ill individual, or someone who has been indicted or found guilty of a felony. The sentence includes one to ten (1- 10) years in Nevada State Prison and maybe a $10,000 fine.
Nevada requires commercial firearms dealers to run background checks on prospective buyers. Although voters recently approved an initiative that would have required background checks on private sale and transfers as well, the Nevada Attorney General declared it is unenforceable.
Gun free zones
With some exceptions, Nevada law prohibits guns in legislative buildings, the Nevada System of Higher Education, child care facilities, airport secure areas, and public schools.
Firearm possession under the influence
2020 UPDATE: Possessing a firearm with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of .08% or higher is a misdemeanor in Nevada carrying up to six (6) months in jail and/or up to $1,000 in fines.
Federal law prohibits machine gun possession unless they were lawfully obtained and registered prior to May 19, 1986. Illegally possessing a machine gun is a federal felony carrying up to ten (1) years in federal prison and/or up to $250,000. Federal law also prohibits armor-piercing ammunition.
Otherwise, Nevada permits people to possess any type of gun including semi-automatic firearms.
Restoration of gun rights
People who have been convicted of a felony or domestic violence may not lawfully possess firearms in Nevada. The only possible way to get gun rights restored in Nevada is to receive a pardon from the Nevada Board of Pardons Commissioners.
A former Los Angeles prosecutor, attorney Neil Shouse graduated with honors from UC Berkeley and Harvard Law School (and completed additional graduate studies at MIT). He has been featured on CNN, Good Morning America, Dr Phil, The Today Show and Court TV. Mr Shouse has been recognized by the National Trial Lawyers as one of the Top 100 Criminal and Top 100 Civil Attorneys.