Getting arrested for DUI does not mean you will be convicted. Police misconduct, defective breathalyzers and crime lab mistakes may be enough to get your charges lessened or dismissed. Visit our page on Nevada DUI Laws to learn more.
Can new Nevada residents drive with a license from their previous state?
Nevada DMV-issued license within 30 days of moving. Otherwise, they face a misdemeanor charge carrying a maximum penalty of:
$1,000 in fines, and/or
6 months in jail
But if the defendant gets a Nevada license promptly, the D.A. will usually dismiss the charge and reduce the fine to as little as $200. In order to get a driver’s license, new residents must be able to provide the DMV with their street address.
Note that the following people may still drive in Nevada with their previous state’s license even if 30 days have elapsed since they moved:
active duty military members
spouses and dependents of active duty military members
A former Los Angeles prosecutor, attorney Neil Shouse graduated with honors from UC Berkeley and Harvard Law School (and completed additional graduate studies at MIT). He has been featured on CNN, Good Morning America, Dr Phil, The Today Show and Court TV. Mr Shouse has been recognized by the National Trial Lawyers as one of the Top 100 Criminal and Top 100 Civil Attorneys.