Getting arrested for DUI does not mean you will be convicted. Police misconduct, defective breathalyzers and crime lab mistakes may be enough to get your charges lessened or dismissed. Visit our page on Nevada DUI Laws to learn more.
Five Reasons You Need a Lawyer if You Have Been Charged With Domestic Violence in Nevada
Battery domestic violence is set out in NRS 33.018 and NRS 200.48. It is defined as willfully and unlawfully committing an act of force or violence upon:
Someone you date or used to date
Someone with whom you vave a child in common
A minor child of any of the above
Blood relation (except siblings or cousins in most circumstances)
If you have been charged with domestic violence, it is important to seek legal guidance. You could be entitled to serious, life-changing consequences. If convicted, these penalties affect a person’s personal and professional relationships, employment and housing.
Penalties Are Significant
The punishments for a domestic violence charge in Nevada are significant. This means that if within the seven years you are charged, the first time and second time it is a misdemeanor. The third charge constitutes a felony. The penalties include:
2 days to 6 months of mandatory jail time
2 days to 120 hours of mandatory community service
Fines between $200-$1,000
Domestic violence counseling
Drug and alcohol counseling
Stay away orders
Permanent loss of right to own a firearm
Note that penalties can be worse if the victim is a child or elderly (age 60 or older).
There are several viable defenses to this crime. These include self-defense, battered women’s syndrome, false allegations, self-inflicted injuries, or an accident. It is important to ensure that if you have been charged, you have a lawyer working on your behalf to ensure that you receive the best possible defense.
Limited Dismissal Rights
Nevada law is unusual in how the prosecutor handles these cases. The prosecution is prohibited from dismissing the charge of guilty, not guilty by mental illness or no contest. This means that plea bargains are limited, and only available if the prosecutor claims that he does not have sufficient evidence to prove that the crime was committed beyond a reasonable doubt.
Arrest is Mandatory
Law enforcement is required to arrest a domestic violence suspect.
If the court believes that the domestic violence did occur, the court may issue a protective order against the suspect. It is important to note that this order will be granted with no notice to the defendant. This is important because these orders can prevent the defendant from entering the family home, or seeing certain family members, such as their children.
About the Author
A former Los Angeles prosecutor, attorney Neil Shouse graduated with honors from UC Berkeley and Harvard Law School (and completed additional graduate studies at MIT). He has been featured on CNN, Good Morning America, Dr Phil, The Today Show and Court TV. Mr Shouse has been recognized by the National Trial Lawyers as one of the Top 100 Criminal and Top 100 Civil Attorneys.
If you’ve been arrested and charged with “battery domestic violence” (BDV) in Washoe County, Nevada, you could be facing severe penalties in addition to dramatic upheaval in your family and professional life. That’s why it is so crucial in the hours and days after your arrest to think as clearly and rationally as possible and to take ...
Colorado Revised Statute 18-6-800.3 CRS defines “domestic violence” as: “an act or threatened act of violence upon a person with whom the actor is or has been involved in an intimate relationship. “Domestic violence” also includes any other crime against a person, or against property, including an animal, or any municipal ordinance violation against a ...
If you’ve been arrested and charged with domestic violence in Henderson, Nevada, you may be scared, in shock, or physically hurt. During such times, it’s important to try to think clearly and take some steps that can go a long way towards protecting yourself, your rights, and your future. While the circumstances of your Henderson domestic violence ...
Domestic violence is not its own criminal offense in Colorado. Instead, it is an enhancement that increases the penalties of any other crimes where the accused and victim are – or were – in an intimate relationship. Whether a domestic violence-related crime is a felony depends on that underlying crime. Which domestic violence-related crimes are ...