This past Tuesday, Nevada voters voted YES for legalizing recreational marijuana, but there are limitations.
- The new law does not take effect until January 1, 2017, so people can still be arrested for using pot until then (unless they are card-holding medical marijuana patients using pot within the confines of the law).
- The new law applies only to adults 21-years old and older in Nevada.
- Under the new law, adults may legally possess only up to one ounce of cannabis (or one-eighth of an ounce of cannabis concentrate).
- Smoking or consuming pot in public will continue to be illegal (the fine is $600).
- Employers may still drug-test for marijuana and fire people for testing positive.
- Driving while under the influence of marijuana will continue to be illegal and prosecuted as a DUI under Nevada law. (Note that even if you are not high, it is still illegal to drive with a blood level of 2 ng/mL of marijuana or 5 ng/mL of the metabolite, or with10 nanograms per milliliter (ng/mL) of marijuana or 15 ng/mL of marijuana metabolite in your urine).
In the coming months, the Taxation Department will create rules regarding where people may legally purchase marijuana in Nevada. Each county will have a limited number of retail licenses for marijuana merchants. (See our related article, California legalizes recreational pot with limits.)