Getting arrested for DUI does not mean you will be convicted. Police misconduct, defective breathalyzers and crime lab mistakes may be enough to get your charges lessened or dismissed. Visit our page on Nevada DUI Laws to learn more.
Can recreational marijuana be used on college campuses in Nevada?
No. Nevada law limits the recreational use of weed to private residences. That does not include dorm rooms or any university-owned student housing, nor anywhere else on college campuses. Smoking pot on campus carries not only a $600 criminal fine, but it also makes the student vulnerable to discipline or expulsion.
The same rules hold true for medical marijuana in Nevada. Students who are medical pot cardholders are encouraged to live off campus in their own apartments or homes. Using medical pot on a college campus is against both university policies and federal law.
Marijuana: As an institution that receives federal grants, contracts and funds for financial aid, UNLV is bound by certain federal laws and, as a result, must establish and enforce policies prohibiting the manufacture, use, and distribution of controlled substances by our students or others within our control. Marijuana — including medical marijuana — is, by definition, a controlled substance and therefore illegal under federal law. Such federal laws are not affected by Nevada’s passage of laws legalizing marijuana.
The University will continue to enforce its current policies, including the Code of Student Conduct, regarding controlled substances. Any student who violates university policy prohibiting the manufacture, use or possession of illegal drugs on campus will be subject to referral for disciplinary action, including removal from campus housing, and, if warranted, criminal action.
Although the State of Nevada has passed laws legalizing marijuana, possession and/or use of medical or recreational marijuana remains prohibited anywhere on the UNLV campus, including all university housing and facilities. Possessing a medical marijuana card does not, in any manner, change or modify the fact that marijuana is a controlled substance and, therefore, illegal.
Remember that although Nevada law now permits possession of up to one ounce (1 oz.) of weed, federal law still prohibits it. Though it is unlikely the feds will arrest otherwise law-abiding recreational users.
About the Author
A former Los Angeles prosecutor, attorney Neil Shouse graduated with honors from UC Berkeley and Harvard Law School (and completed additional graduate studies at MIT). He has been featured on CNN, Good Morning America, Dr Phil, The Today Show and Court TV. Mr Shouse has been recognized by the National Trial Lawyers as one of the Top 100 Criminal and Top 100 Civil Attorneys.
DUI breath tests that determine whether someone is under the influence of alcohol have long been a fixture in California DUI law enforcement. But for a long time police have had to rely on more invasive blood or urine tests to determine whether someone was driving under the influence of drugs. That may not be ...
Nevada marijuana law permits adults 21 years of age and older to possess up to one ounce of marijuana or up to 1/8 of an ounce of cannabis concentrate such as hashish. However, the only places you may possess and consume recreational weed are private residences and licensed social-use venues. Otherwise, possessing recreational cannabis is ...
On January 1, 2018, the use of recreational marijuana became legal in California for adults age 21 and older. But sale, possession and cultivation of weed are subject to reasonable local restrictions. Here’s how local and state regulations affect your right to purchase, use, possess and grow marijuana in Los Angeles. Where can I legally ...
Nevada law permits adults (21 and up) to possess a maximum of 1/8 oz. of concentrated cannabis for personal use. People may not sell it unless they are licensed dealers. Concentrated cannabis is extracted from marijuana. Therefore, it is more potent than marijuana. That is why people may lawfully possess an ounce of marijuana but ...