California’s DUI laws can be complex and confusing. In this section, our attorneys break down the rules and explain the process.
Call or Message Us 24/7
It depends. Unless there is “pronounced weaving” for a “substantial” distance, witnessed by a “seasoned” officer, the answer will be no. Good news for many California DUI suspects.
Many officers will pull over suspected drunk drivers because they are weaving within their lanes. This, the police believe, is a DUI cue warranting further investigation.
But courts have held that this does not rise to the level of probable cause that is necessary to pull a driver over for suspected California DUI charges. “Probable cause” means a reasonable belief that criminal activity is or was taking place. With respect to driving, it means that the officer reasonably believes that a driver is or has committed a traffic infraction or violation.
Weaving within a lane isn’t in and of itself a violation, and resultantly, isn’t sufficient to justify a traffic stop. Because of this, weaving within a lane won’t typically give an officer probable cause to stop you for a California DUI.1
If weaving within your lane was the reason you were pulled over and investigated for a DUI, be sure to tell your California DUI defense attorney.
He/she will ask the judge to suppress (that is, exclude) any evidence obtained due to such an illegal stop. In other words, even if you were driving while intoxicated, weaving within your lane just might be your “get out of jail free” card. (Refer to our article, “Five things never to do if you are pulled over in California.“)
California has two primary DUI laws for adult drivers.
Most people arrested for DUI in California get charged with both of these sections.
A former Los Angeles prosecutor, attorney Neil Shouse graduated with honors from UC Berkeley and Harvard Law School (and completed additional graduate studies at MIT). He has been featured on CNN, Good Morning America, Dr Phil, The Today Show and Court TV. Mr Shouse has been recognized by the National Trial Lawyers as one of the Top 100 Criminal and Top 100 Civil Attorneys.
Colorado DUIs are prosecuted as class 4 felonies in the following two situations: The defendant has three prior convictions of DUI, DUI per se, or DWAI; or The incident caused serious injury, even if the defendant has no prior DUIs 1. Fourth-time DUIs Driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs is typically a misdemeanor ...
Perhaps surprising, people can get arrested for driving under the influence of Listerine, Nyquil, a few sips of a cocktail, or any other liquid or substance that contains alcohol. It’s not that these drivers are necessarily “under the influence,” but it is due to the fact that the substances mentioned are all capable of producing ...
Yes. Driving while impaired by marijuana is considered a DUI in Nevada. Under Nevada law, a person can be arrested for DUI with marijuana for either of the following three actions: driving having ingested marijuana to a degree which renders the driver incapable of safely driving or exercising actual physical control of a vehicle, or ...
The average cost of an ignition interlock device (IID) is between $70 and $100 per month. The ignition interlock provider might also charge an installation fee, which is typically between $75 and $100. Depending on the severity of a person’s driving under the influence (DUI) offense, and the number of months a person has to use ...