Every crime in California is defined by a specific code section. Our attorneys explain the law, penalties and best defense strategies for every major crime in California.
Criminal Defense » Five Things to Never Do If You Are Pulled Over
Whether you think it is justified or not, being pulled over by police is an unpleasant experience. While it is never fun, keeping the following things in mind can make the process go a whole lot easier:
Don’t Coast: If you see lights behind you, do not coast for a few blocks while you find a place to pull over. According to police, this sends a message that you may be stashing something. Just pull over at your earliest opportunity. (Refer to our articles, “Is weaving probable cause for a DUI stop in California?” and “The accident defense” in California hit & run cases.”)
Watch Your Attitude: No one enjoys being pulled over. However, keeping a pleasant attitude can really help you in the long run. If you are hostile or impatient, police may have a reason to “teach you a lesson.”
Don’t Volunteer Information: When you are questioned by police, you should provide them with your identifying information (name, address, phone number). Beyond answering basic questions you should not volunteer details. Something you say could end up being used against you later.
Don’t Take Your Hands Off The Wheel: Police are trained to watch for any sudden movements in the people they pull over. If you take your hands off the wheel it could be because you are reaching for a weapon, or putting the car in gear to flee for instance.
Don’t Get Out Of Your Car: If you get out of your vehicle, it sends up a red flag to police. They want to ensure not only your safety but theirs as well.
If you have been pulled over and cited for an offense, such as a DUI or DUID, it is very important that you promptly speak to one of our California Dui lawyers for guidance and ensure that your rights are protected. Contact us today for guidance. (Also refer to our article about the “accident defense” in California hit & run cases.)
A former Los Angeles prosecutor, attorney Neil Shouse graduated with honors from UC Berkeley and Harvard Law School (and completed additional graduate studies at MIT). He has been featured on CNN, Good Morning America, Dr Phil, Court TV, The Today Show and Court TV. Mr Shouse has been recognized by the National Trial Lawyers as one of the Top 100 Criminal and Top 100 Civil Attorneys.
A rock may be considered a deadly weapon. Criminal laws generally say that an object is a deadly weapon if it can be used in a manner that makes it capable of producing death or great bodily injury. Given this definition, a “deadly weapon” may include such things as: rocks, bottles, and BB guns. Penal ...
The statute of limitations for statutory rape in California is either 1 year or 3 years. If the charge is a misdemeanor, it has to be filed within 1 year. If it is a felony, it has to be filed within 3 years. If it is not filed within this timeframe, the charge can be ...
The answer is almost certainly no–because the California lawyer-client privilege protects almost everything you say in confidence to your attorney from disclosure. Under California Evidence Code 954, this privilege protects all confidential communications between a client and his/her attorney. The privilege applies to: The client (who does not need to disclose any of these communications ...
A felony arraignment hearing is normally the first formal court appearance in criminal cases where a defendant is charged with a felony offense. In most jurisdictions, these hearings are when courts inform defendants of the crime(s) filed against them, advise defendants as to their constitutional rights, address issues of bail and release from custody, and ...