Arrested for DUI, DWI or drunk driving in Murrieta, Temecula, Moreno Valley, Banning, Palm Springs, Corona, Norco or Indio? Our Riverside County DUI attorneys can help. We may be able to get charges reduced or dismissed, and save your California drivers license. Our DUI law office is located at:
4480 Main Street
Riverside, CA 92501
Phone: (951) 734-1600
Riverside remains one of the few counties in California to impose jail time systematically for first-time DUI offenders. Those convicted of first offense DUI generally receive between six to ten days of jail. This could be served at the Robert Presley Detention Center or Southwest Detention Center, or most of the time the person could opt for work sentence instead of actual jail time.
Riverside DUI defense lawyer Mike Scafiddi spent more than a decade as a police officer. In that role, he conducted hundreds of DUI stops, investigations and arrests. He knows the procedures Riverside County cops are required to follow in drunk driving cases...and he can quickly identify it when they don't.
Riverside DUI attorney Mike Scafiddi is a certified drug recognition expert, and has substantial experience in California DUI of Drugs cases, including DUI marijuana, DUI ambien and DUI vicodin. Defense lawyer Scafiddi has testified as an expert witness in court as to whether DUI defendants were intoxicated at the time of driving.
The Riverside Courts DUI Process
Most people arrested for DUI in Riverside County get charged with two offenses: Vehicle Code 23152(a) driving under the influence, and Vehicle Code 23152(b) driving with excessive BAC. Both of these are considered DUI offenses.
Generally drunk driving suspects in Riverside County get released from jail within a few hours of arrest. In a felony DUI, DUI with injury or vehicular manslaughter case, the person may be held in custody until posting bail. Inmates are usually held at the Robert Presley Detention Center or the Southwest Detention Center in Murrieta. Juveniles may be held at the Riverside Juvenile Hall.
If you hire a Riverside criminal defense lawyer, he/she can usually appear on your behalf at court and the DMV. The goal in court is to get the charges reduced or dismissed, and avoid jail time. The goal at the DMV is to prevent a drivers license suspension.
Riverside CA DUI Penalties
The penalties for a DUI conviction in Riverside are pretty standard: fines, probation, DUI school, a license suspension. But Riverside courts also impose jail time, even on a first offense. The sentencing is usually 6 to 10 days on a first offense, 30 days on a second offense, and at least 120 days of jail for third time DUI. People can usually serve the time as a work release rather than actually staying in a jail facility.
A good Riverside criminal defense lawyer can often negotiate with the prosecutor or judge to get jail time reduced or eliminated.