Getting arrested for DUI does not mean you will be convicted. Police misconduct, defective breathalyzers and crime lab mistakes may be enough to get your charges lessened or dismissed. Visit our page on Nevada DUI Laws to learn more.
Is it a crime to use my phone’s GPS while driving in Nevada?
Yes. Physically handling any electronic device while driving is against Nevada law. It does not matter if the driver is not talking on the phone nor texting nor surfing the internet. Touching the phone for any purpose including to use the navigation system is illegal.
Therefore, Nevada drivers who wish to use their phones as a GPS device are advised to enter the location information prior to taking the wheel and then refrain from touching the phone until the car is parked and engine off. Picking up the phone or inputting information into the phone while the car is on the road makes the driver vulnerable to a police stop. Note that it is legal in Nevada to give voice commands to a cell phone while driving.
Touching or using an electronic device while driving is a civil infraction in Nevada. In general, a first violation within a seven-year period carries a $50 civil penalty and is not treated as a moving violation. The civil penalty is then doubled to $100 for a second violation within a seven-year period. Finally, a third or subsequent violation within a seven-year period carries a sentence of $250 civil penalty as well as a six-month license suspension. Read more information about using a cell phone’s GPS while driving in Nevada.
About the Author
A former Los Angeles prosecutor, attorney Neil Shouse graduated with honors from UC Berkeley and Harvard Law School (and completed additional graduate studies at MIT). He has been featured on CNN, Good Morning America, Dr Phil, The Today Show and Court TV. Mr Shouse has been recognized by the National Trial Lawyers as one of the Top 100 Criminal and Top 100 Civil Attorneys.