Getting arrested for DUI does not mean you will be convicted. Police misconduct, defective breathalyzers and crime lab mistakes may be enough to get your charges lessened or dismissed. Visit our page on Nevada DUI Laws to learn more.
Most of the attention on distracted driving, and the focus of Nevada’s distracted driving law, is on the use of cell phones or other electronic devices while behind the wheel. But distracted driving actually includes a number of other activities, including:
eating and drinking
adjusting the radio or another music player
talking with other passengers
There is no question that cell phones have become the primary concern of law enforcement and public safety officials when it comes down to preventing or reducing distracted driving in Nevada.
That is why on January 1, 2012, Nevada joined an ever-growing number of states in making it a crime for drivers to touch or have in their hands a cell phone or other electronic device while driving in Nevada. This includes talking, texting, e-mailing, or operating a GPS device in anything other than a hands-free manner. As of July 1, 2021, texting while driving is a civil infraction.
What is Prohibited While Driving in Henderson
Nevada’s distracted driving law, NRS 484B.165, makes it a civil infraction for drivers to do any of the following while driving:
Physically handling a cell phone or other electronic device, including talking, texting or accessing the Internet
Using an electronic, handheld device at a stoplight
Picking up a GPS device or programming information into the device
Playing music on a device if it requires the device to be in the driver’s hand at any time
What is NOT a Distracted Violation in Henderson
NRS 484B.165 sets forth a number of specific acts and situations that are excluded from the distracted driving statute. Specifically, using a cell-phone or other hand-held electronic device while driving is not a violation of NRS 484B.165 if:
the driver is using the device or in-car system through voice command
the driver is using a voice-operated GPS or navigation system that is affixed to the vehicle
the driver is reporting or requesting assistance relating to a medical emergency, a safety hazard or criminal activity
the driver is responding to a situation requiring immediate action to protect the health, welfare or safety of the driver or another person and stopping the vehicle would be inadvisable, impractical or dangerous
the driver is a law enforcement officer, firefighter or emergency medical personnel acting within the scope of their duties
Penalties for Violating Nevada’s Distracted Driving Law
A violation of the state’s distracted driving law is a civil infraction. You’ll receive a $50.00 civil penalty for your first violation in seven years, but it will not be treated as a moving violation. A second violation will cost you $100 and third and the subsequent violation will cost you $250 as well as a six-month driver’s license suspension.
If you get caught using your cell phone or another device in a prohibited way while driving in a work zone, those civil infractions could be doubled.
A former Los Angeles prosecutor, attorney Neil Shouse graduated with honors from UC Berkeley and Harvard Law School (and completed additional graduate studies at MIT). He has been featured on CNN, Good Morning America, Dr Phil, The Today Show and Court TV. Mr Shouse has been recognized by the National Trial Lawyers as one of the Top 100 Criminal and Top 100 Civil Attorneys.
A California appeals court recently ruled that you can be charged with reckless driving under California law if you ride your bicycle recklessly. In 2013, after drinking heavily at a Dodgers game, Jorge Velasquez, Jr., rode away on his bicycle. While going downhill on the wrong side of the road, he struck a pedestrian. The ...
Under Clark County Code 14.60.190, Las Vegas police have the discretion to ticket drivers who are not giving “full time and attention to the operation of a motor vehicle.” Theoretically, this includes drivers who are eating. Violating CCC14.60.190 by driving distracted is a misdemeanor in Nevada. The maximum penalties are 6 months in jail and/or ...