Getting arrested for DUI does not mean you will be convicted. Police misconduct, defective breathalyzers and crime lab mistakes may be enough to get your charges lessened or dismissed. Visit our page on Nevada DUI Laws to learn more.
VOCP candidates must meet the following five requirements:
The victim must experience a violent crime. Examples include rape, battery, domestic violence, DUI, child abuse, or elder abuse. If the victim gets killed in the crime, his/her family may be eligible for VOCP assistance.
The crime must be reported to law enforcement or child protective services within five (5) days of the incident. The only exception is if the victim was incapable of meeting the deadline.
The VOCP application must be submitted within one (1) year of the crime. If the victim is unable to file within a year, then within a reasonable time. Minor victims of sexual assault, molestation or pornography must file before reaching 21 years old.
Victims must not have participated in committing the crime.
Victims must fully cooperate with law enforcement and the VOCP.
How do victims apply for VOCP assistance?
Victims must complete and submit the VOCP application:
VOCP’s Compensation Officer will then schedule a hearing. This is typically within 30 days of the appeal. The victim may appear in person or by phone. Alternatively, the victim may submit a statement in writing. The Hearing Officer typically provides a decision within 15 days.
If the Hearing Officer denies the appeal, the victim has 15 days to appeal again. The Appeals Officer will schedule a hearing. This is typically within 30 days of the second appeal. The victim may appear in person or by phone. Alternatively, the victim may submit a statement in writing. This hearing will be recorded. The Appeals Officer typically provides a decision within 30 days.
If the Appeals Officer denies the second appeal, the victim has 15 days to appeal a third and final time. The Board of Examiners will notify the victim when it will hear the appeal. The Board may either affirm, reverse, or remand the decision of the Appeals Officer.
A former Los Angeles prosecutor, attorney Neil Shouse graduated with honors from UC Berkeley and Harvard Law School (and completed additional graduate studies at MIT). He has been featured on CNN, Good Morning America, Dr Phil, The Today Show and Court TV. Mr Shouse has been recognized by the National Trial Lawyers as one of the Top 100 Criminal and Top 100 Civil Attorneys.
The police just arrested you for DUI and they made you unlock your phone so that they could look through it. Can they really make me unlock it? The answer largely depends on the state in which you live. Some jurisdictions say that law enforcement personnel can make you unlock your phone (usually by either ...
How much does it cost to get a record seal in Nevada?Watch this video on YouTube Process of getting a criminal record seal in Nevada amounts to around $150 total if the person does not use an attorney. However, it is highly recommended that people seeking record seals consult with a Las Vegas criminal defense ...
People arrested by CHP are taken to local county jails, city jails, police department jails or holding facilities. Aside from the CHP Lockup facility in Sacramento, the CHP does not operate its own system of jails. If arrestees are not released on bail or their own recognizance, they are held in these facilities until their arraignment. They can ...
If you fail to appear in court for a scheduled court date (sometimes referred to as FTA), the judge in the case can issue a bench warrant for your arrest. The warrant authorizes law enforcement officers to arrest you and bring you directly to court. Bench warrants in these cases are sometimes referred to as ...