Getting arrested for DUI does not mean you will be convicted. Police misconduct, defective breathalyzers and crime lab mistakes may be enough to get your charges lessened or dismissed. Visit our page on Nevada DUI Laws to learn more.
Why are there so many “trespass” arrests at Las Vegas casinos?
NRS 207.200 is the Nevada statute that defines the crime of trespass. People can commit this offense by staying on another person’s property after being asked to leave. Since this scenario frequently occurs at Las Vegas casinos, trespassing crimes often take place at these establishments.
1. What is trespassing under Nevada law?
People commit trespassing under Nevada law if they either:
enter someone else’s property without permission, or
remain on that property after being instructed to leave.1
Trespassing is a misdemeanor offense that carries a penalty of up to 6 months in jail and a fine of up to $1,000.00.2
2. How does trespassing in a casino typically happen?
If you’re in a casino and are being too noisy, a security officer may appear and ask you to leave. Unfortunately, the officer may be very rude about it, and, in an attempt to defend yourself, an altercation may quickly ensue. Since you technically stayed on the premises after being ordered to go, the guard may call the police and have you arrested for trespass.
Luckily, NRS 207.200 is only a misdemeanor crime, and jail is rare for a first offense. However, since trespass looks bad on your criminal record, it’s worth hiring an experienced criminal defense attorney to attempt to get the case dismissed. (Also refer our article, “How do I get arrested for trespass in Nevada?“).
About the Author
A former Los Angeles prosecutor, attorney Neil Shouse graduated with honors from UC Berkeley and Harvard Law School (and completed additional graduate studies at MIT). He has been featured on CNN, Good Morning America, Dr Phil, The Today Show and Court TV. Mr Shouse has been recognized by the National Trial Lawyers as one of the Top 100 Criminal and Top 100 Civil Attorneys.
California criminal law recognizes two similar forms of assault. These are assault with a deadly weapon (under Penal Code 245a1) and assault with a firearm (under Penal Code 245a2). Let’s take a look at the difference between the two offenses. 1. How does California law define “assault with a deadly weapon”? Penal Code 245a1 PC defines ...
A letter asking for leniency is a letter to the judge in a criminal case, usually submitted around the time of sentencing, asking the judge to go easy on the defendant. Because judges often have wide discretion as to sentencing, these letters sometimes help to persuade them to impose a lighter rather than a harsher ...
The “exclusionary rule” allows judges in Colorado criminal cases to disregard (“exclude“) evidence that police have illegally obtained. 1. When are police searches in Colorado legal/not legal? Police are required to adhere to the Fourth Amendment‘s prohibition against unreasonable searches and seizures when conducting searches. In general, police must secure a Colorado search warrant before ...
Driving without current and valid vehicle registration in Colorado is a class B traffic infraction punishable by $15 to $100, a small surcharge, and no DMV points. (Colorado drivers must re-register every 12 months.)1 Can I go to jail? No. Driving without valid and current registration in Colorado does not carry jail as a potential ...