In this section, our attorneys explain Nevada’s criminal laws and legal concepts, A to Z
Criminal Defense » In Nevada, Can I Let My Child Use My Gun?
If you live in Nevada and want to let your minor (under 18) child hold or use a gun, rifle, or another firearm, you could face criminal charges.
NRS 202.300 makes it illegal for anyone in Nevada under the age of 18 to handle or possess any firearm of any kind for hunting, target practice, or other purposes, unless they are accompanied by or under the immediate charge of his or her parent or guardian or an adult person authorized by his or her parent or guardian to have control or custody of the child.
However, the law does allow for certain exceptions to the adult supervision requirement for minors 14 years of age or older if they have their parents’ permission and only for certain non-automatic weapons. These exceptions include hunting with a valid license to hunt, training courses, practicing at a firing range, competitions, and on private property where an adult has given permission. NRS 200.300, subsections 5-8.
“Aiding or Knowingly Permitting” a Child to Handle a Gun Outside of Adult Supervision
Outside of those specified exceptions for children 14 and older, it is a crime for any adult, including a parent, to “aid or knowingly permit” a child to handle or possess a firearm in Nevada without adult supervision.
A person does not “aid or knowingly permit a child” in violation of NRS 202.300 if:
Penalties for Violating NRS 202.300
If any adult, including a parent, “aids or knowingly permits” a child to handle or possess a firearm without adult supervision and the child’s use or possession does not fall within one of the statute’s specified exceptions, they are committing a Nevada misdemeanor.
However, if the person knows or has reason to know that there is a substantial risk that the child will use the firearm to commit a violent act, they can be found guilty of a Nevada category C felony. NRS 202.300(b).
A second or subsequent offense will be prosecuted as a category B felony that can lead to a term in Nevada State Prison of between 1 and 6 years and a fine of up to $5,000. NRS 202.300(a) and (c).
Please call one of our experienced and knowledgeable Nevada criminal defense attorneys if you have been charged with any crimes relating to firearms in Nevada.
A former Los Angeles prosecutor, attorney Neil Shouse graduated with honors from UC Berkeley and Harvard Law School (and completed additional graduate studies at MIT). He has been featured on CNN, Good Morning America, Dr Phil, Court TV, The Today Show and Court TV. Mr Shouse has been recognized by the National Trial Lawyers as one of the Top 100 Criminal and Top 100 Civil Attorneys.
Colorado’s eavesdropping and wiretapping laws make it a crime to record other people’s conversations without the permission of at least one of the participants. And if the conversation is an interstate phone call, it may be necessary to get everyone’s permission before lawfully recording the call. But any conversation that occurs in public can be ...
If your probation ends and you still owe restitution the debt does not go away. Under California Penal Code 1214, any victim restitution that remains unpaid when probation ends, is enforceable against the defendant as if it were a civil money judgment. Restitution still owing when probation ends is enforceable as a civil money judgment ...
Every summer dozens of drug busts mar the Electric Daisy Carnival (“EDC”). People caught with up to an ounce of marijuana will probably just be cited. But possessing other types of narcotics will result in being arrested and booked at the Clark County Detention Center. And defendants will face charges for drug possession (NRS 453.336). ...
Adults 21 and older may possess up to 1/8 of an ounce of hashish for personal use in Nevada. Only licensed dealers may sell hashish. Hashish (“hash”) is a type of concentrated cannabis. It comes from the dried resin (“kief”) of the tops of cannabis plants. Hashish can be smoked or used in edibles. Prohibited ...