The Robert Presley Detention Center (Riverside County Jail)


When an individual is arrested in Riverside County, he/she will be taken to the Indio Jail, the Blythe Jail, the Southwest Detention Center, the Larry D. Smith "Banning" Jail, or the Robert Presley Detention Center, depending on which facility is closest to the arrest location.

The Robert Presley Detention Center...commonly referred to as the Riverside County Jail (which it officially was until 1989)...holds up to 1,100 male and female inmates.  This facility temporarily houses inmates until they

  • post bail,
  • are released on their own recognizance (known as an O.R. release),
  • appear for their arraignment, or
  • reach the conclusion of their criminal case.

If an inmate is ultimately convicted, he/she will then serve his/her time at one of the other Riverside County facilities or will be sent to the California state prison.

In this article, our Riverside County criminal defense attorneys1 will explain the following:

If, after reading this article, you would like more information, we invite you to contact us at Shouse Law Group.

1. Procedures on How to Post Bail for an Inmate at the Robert Presley Detention Center

After an inmate has been booked into the Riverside County Jail, his/her bail will be set by the Riverside County Bail Schedule and is determined based on the crime(s) for which he/she was arrested.

"Bail" refers to the amount of money that a defendant (or typically someone on his/her behalf) must pay in order to be released from jail.  It is intended to assure the arresting agency and court that the defendant will appear in court as expected.

If the defendant attends all court appearances, the bail will be returned at the end of the case.  If the defendant does not attend all of his/her court appearances, he/she forfeits that money to the court.

The Robert Presley Detention Center accepts two types of bail:  cash bail and bail bonds (both of which are discussed in detail in our article on How to Post Bail in California).  And if you choose to post bail for an inmate, you may do so directly in the Jail lobby 24 hours a day / 7 days a week.

1.1. Cash bail

When you pay (or "post") cash bail, you must pay the entire bail amount.  At that point, paperwork will be completed, and the inmate will be released pending his/her arraignment.

If the inmate attends all of his/her court appearances, the bail will be returned at the conclusion of the criminal case (minus a small administrative fee).  However, if the inmate does not attend all of those appearances, he/she forfeits that money to the court.

1.2. Bail bonds

Because most people don't have the cash to post full bail, using a bail bond is the most common way to bail someone out of jail.  When you use a bail bond, you are only required to pay a nonrefundable maximum of 10% of the total bond.

You obtain a bail bond from a bail bondsman (aka a bail agent).  If the defendant makes all of his/her court appearances, you pay nothing on top of the 10%, but you do not get that 10% is the bondsman's nonrefundable fee.  If the inmate doesn't make those appearances, you will be liable for repaying the entire bail amount to the agent.

Local bail bondsmen advertise via the Internet and in the phone book.  Make sure you verify the bondsman's license and retain copies of any documents for your records.

*NOTE:  After you post bail, you should immediately consult with one of our experienced Riverside criminal defense attorneys who can even help you schedule a bail hearing to hopefully reduce or even waive the inmate's bail.

2. How to Get Inmate Information

If you wish to obtain information on an inmate incarcerated at the Riverside County Jail, you may call the Jail directly at (951) 955-4500, or you may visit the Riverside County Sheriff's Department's inmate information website.

You must provide the inmate's full name and date of birth before a deputy will give you information about a specific inmate.

You may also want case information about an inmate.  Typically, inmates who are being held in custody must be arraigned within two (2) days of being arrested.  At that point, the judge will either continue the arraignment or will set the case for a pre-trial hearing.  If you wish to look up case information or upcoming court dates for an inmate being housed at the Robert Presley Detention Center, visit the Riverside County case information website.

3. How to Contact an Inmate at the Riverside County Jail

When an inmate is booked into the Robert Presley Detention Center, he/she is permitted to make one free outgoing phone call.  Beyond that, all outgoing calls must be collect or placed with a calling card.  Inmates are not allowed to receive incoming calls.

If you would like to send an inmate a prepaid calling card, you may send the inmate money in accordance with the policies set forth under Section 6. How to Put Money "On the Books" so that he/she can purchase a card at the Jail's commissary.

When you have a loved one at the Detention Center, you may want to contact your local telephone carrier to make sure that collect and calling card calls are not blocked on your telephone plan.

The good news is that contact with inmates at the Riverside County Jail is not limited to phone calls.  You can also visit an inmate in person or correspond via mail.  Both of these options are discussed in the next two sections.

4. The Robert Presley Detention Center's Visiting Hours and Policies

The Robert Presley Detention Center is located at

4000 Orange Street
Riverside, CA 92501
(951) 955-4500

*There is metered public parking on the streets surrounding the Jail and two public parking structures located at the corner of Lemon and 12th Streets.

Inmates at the Riverside County Jail are allowed to have two (2) visits in a seven (7) day period, the seven days beginning with the first actual visit.  Visits are limited to 45 minutes in length.

All visits must be scheduled ahead of time.  If you wish to visit an inmate, you must call 24 hours in advance to schedule the visit.

Typical visiting hours are 9:00am to 5:00pm 7 days a week.  However, each unit within the jail has its own morning, afternoon and evening visiting hours, which means you should call ahead to (951) 341-8888 or review the Jail's visiting hours website before scheduling a visit.  Check-in begins 20 minutes before the visit start time and ends 10 minutes before the visit start time.

Each visit may be with a maximum of two (2) adults and two (2) children.  Children must be accompanied by a parent or legal guardian.

Attorneys and members of the clergy are not bound by these visiting hours.  Attorneys may visit inmates 24 hours a day / 7 days a week.  Clergy members are permitted one unrestricted visit per inmate and then must adhere to the normal visiting hours after that.

4.1. Rules and restrictions

All visitors must present a valid government issued photo I.D. card, such as

  • a California driver's license,
  • a California identification card,
  • a U.S. Passport,
  • an alien registration card, or
  • a U.S. military card.

The only items visitors may bring into the visiting area include a set of car keys and a baby bottle (when an infant is brought into the facility).

Visitors are not permitted to bring anything to the inmates.  Additionally, visitors are prohibited from bringing

  • firearms or any other type of object that could be used to injure another person,
  • alcohol or illegal substances,
  • cameras,
  • food,
  • drinks, or
  • cigarettes

into the visiting area.  Inherently illegal items will be seized and the owner will be subject to arrest.  Prohibited items will be confiscated.

Similarly, anyone who commits a criminal act while at the facility will be subject to arrest and prosecution.  And all visitors are subject to a search and warrant check prior to entering the Jail.

In addition, anyone who doesn't conform to the Robert Presley's dress code will be denied entrance.  This means that anyone whose clothing exhibits any

  • gang-related images,
  • sexually suggestive images, or
  • pictures or writing that may be offensive to another person,

or anyone who is dressed too provocatively will not be able to visit an inmate.  The bottom line is that the staff at the Riverside County Jail reserves the right to deny entry to anyone they believe may pose a security threat to the staff or the inmates.

5. Rules and Regulations Regarding Mail Correspondence at the Riverside County Jail

Inmates at the Robert Presley Detention Center are permitted to send and receive an unlimited number of letters each day.  If you wish to send mail to an inmate housed at this facility, send it to

[Inmate's name and booking number]
Robert Presley Detention Center
P.O. Box 710
Riverside, CA 92501

Be sure to include a return address because, if you do not, your mail will not be delivered.  Similarly, any mail that is stained or dirty will be returned to sender as contaminated.

All mail will be inspected to make sure that it does not contain

  • any contraband (inherently illegal or prohibited items, described below),
  • escape plans,
  • criminal conspiracies, or
  • any other type of threat or compromise to the security of the Jail, staff or inmates.

5.1. Prohibited items

Any mail that contains any of the following items will not be delivered to an inmate:

  • more than 10 photographs at a time,
  • photos that contain nudity, sexual undertones, violence or gang-related images,
  • mail written in gel-type ink, crayon, lipstick, or containing glue or "white-out" correction fluid,
  • odor-causing substances like cologne or perfume,
  • instant photos, stickers, labels or stamps of any kind,
  • pens, plastic, glitter, tape, stationary, envelopes, "post-its", craft materials, ribbon, parchment paper, black paper, staples or paperclips,
  • "care" packages, flowers, candy,
  • phone cards, greeting cards or postcards, or
  • cash or personal checks (although U.S. Postal Service money orders are okay),
  • hardback or leather-bound books, or
  • any paperback books that are not mailed directly from the publisher or from a verifiable and reputable Internet/mail order company or bookstore and that are delivered in any manner other than via the U.S. Postal Service.

If you wish to send an inmate a newspaper...and it is not delivered directly from the publisher by must be delivered to the Jail by an employee of the publisher, clearly marked with the inmate's name.

6. How to Put "Money on the Books"

Inmates at the Riverside County Jail are allowed to have in-house money accounts to make purchases at the Jail's commissary.  Such purchases may include snacks, drinks, cosmetics or hygiene items and writing materials.

Whatever money is in the inmate's possession at the time of booking will be placed into his/her account (as long as it was not stored as evidence relating to the arrest).  And in addition to this money, anyone else may deposit money into an inmate's account in one of two ways.

If you wish to deposit money in person, you may do so in the Jail lobby

  • Monday, Tuesday and Thursday from 6:30am to 4:00pm, and
  • Wednesday, Friday, Saturday and Sunday from 6:30am to 4:00pm and from 6:30pm to 4:00am.

The Jail cashier will accept cash or a U.S. Postal Service money order for the exact amount you wish to deposit.  The Jail will not provide change.

If you wish to mail money into an inmate's account, the only method of payment that will be accepted is a U.S. Postal Service money order that includes the inmate's name and booking number.

Any other form of payment will be returned to the sender.

7. Inmate Services

Inmates at the Robert Presley Detention Center have access to a number of inmate services.  These include (but are not limited to):

  • Alcoholics Anonymous ("AA") meetings,
  • education programs designed to help an inmate obtain his/her General Education Diploma (G.E.D.),
  • computer training,
  • religious services and counseling run by a variety of chaplains from different denominations,
  • a library,
  • a recreational yard, and
  • a commissary to purchase goods.

And inmates who require serious medical attention or who have severe mental health issues are treated at the Riverside County Regional Medical Center in Moreno Valley.

8. The Procedures on "Return of Property" at the Robert Presley Detention Center

When an inmate is booked into the Riverside County Jail, his/her belongings are collected and stored.  This property is returned to the inmate once he/she is released.  Alternatively, an inmate can designate another person to claim that property (with the exception of clothing and money) by filling out a property release form.  Clothing and money will remain in storage until the inmate is released from the Jail.

That said, there is an exception where money is concerned.  An inmate may designate someone to withdraw money from his/her account within 24 hours of booking.  But after the 24-hour period expires, that money will only be released

  1. when the inmate is released, or
  2. pursuant to a court order.

Anyone picking up property must bring valid identification (listed above under Section 4. Visiting Hours and Policies).  This does not need to be arranged ahead of time and can be done at the time of the visit.

If you wish to drop off court clothing or prescription medication or wish to have an inmate sign checks or other legal documents, contact the Robert Presley Detention Center directly at (951) 955-4500 to make arrangements ahead of time.  These visits may be conducted Monday through Friday at the Jail's lobby from 7:00am to 11:00pm.

9. Work Release at the Riverside County Jail

If you are sentenced to serve time in the Robert Presley Detention Center, your skilled Riverside criminal defense attorney may be able to convince the judge to allow you to participate in a work release program instead.

Non-violent, low-risk offenders who are eligible to participate in this program work between two (2) and five (5) days a week at an assigned job site where they perform eight (8) to ten (10) hours of labor a day in lieu of one (1) day of jail time.

For more information about Riverside County work release, you can contact the department directly at (951) 922-7330.

Call us for help...

female operator smiling
Call us for help at (855) LAW-FIRM

If you or loved one is charged with a crime and you are looking to hire an attorney for representation, we invite you to contact us at Shouse Law Group. We can provide a free consultation in office or by phone. We have local offices in Los Angeles, the San Fernando Valley, Pasadena, Long Beach, Orange County, Ventura, San Bernardino, Rancho Cucamonga, Riverside, San Diego, Sacramento, Oakland, San Francisco, San Jose and throughout California.

1Our Riverside criminal defense attorneys' offices are located at 4480 Main Street, Riverside, CA 92501.  Our telephone number is (951) 734-1600.  We also have local offices in Hemet, Palm Springs, Rancho Cucamonga and San Bernardino.  And our Los Angeles criminal defense lawyers have local law offices in Beverly Hills, Burbank, Lancaster, Long Beach, Los Angeles, Pasadena, Pomona, Torrance, Van Nuys, West Covina, and Whittier.



Free attorney consultations...

The attorneys at Shouse Law Group bring more than 100 years collective experience fighting for individuals. We're ready to fight for you. Call us 24 hours a day, 365 days a year at 855-LAW-FIRM for a free case evaluation.

Regain peace of mind...

Shouse Law Defense Group has multiple locations throughout California. Click Office Locations to find out which office is right for you.

Office Locations

Shouse Law Group has multiple locations all across California, Nevada, and Colorado. Click Office Locations to find out which office is right for you.

Call us 24/7 (855) 396-0370