Getting arrested for DUI does not mean you will be convicted. Police misconduct, defective breathalyzers and crime lab mistakes may be enough to get your charges lessened or dismissed. Visit our page on Colorado DUI Laws to learn more.
Insurance companies rely on driving records to calculate your premium rates and whether or not to increase them when it comes time to renew your policy.
Employers may also rely on your driving history to determine whether you are right for a job that requires driving.
To check your driving record, go to the Colorado DMV website. They will ask for the following information:
date of birth,
last four digits of your social security number,
email address, and
credit card number
Is there a way to get DMV points removed?
In Colorado, certain traffic school courses approved by the court may result in up to three DMV points being removed. Though consult with your attorney before taking any class to make sure ahead of time that the DMV will remove the points.
When can my Colorado license get suspended from DMV points?
If you are at least 21 years old, the Colorado DMV will suspend your license if you rack up:
12 points in 12 months; or
18 points in 24 months.
If you are at least 18 years old but younger than 21 years old, the Colorado DMV will suspend your license if you rack up:
9 points in 12 months;
12 points in 24 months; or
14 points in the 36 months that you are 18 to 20 years old.
If you are younger than 18 years old, the Colorado DMV will suspend your license if you rack up
6 points in 12 months; or
7 points while you are younger than 18 years old.
Note that there is a lower bar for chauffeurs (including cab drivers). If you are a chauffeur, the Colorado DMV will suspend your license if you rack up:
16 points in 12 months;
24 points in 24 months; or
28 points in 48 months.2
Driver’s license suspensions based on too many DMV points last from six months to 12 months.
Once the DMV notifies you that your license is being suspended, you can request a DMV hearing to contest the suspension. Though even if you lose the hearing (or choose not to fight the suspension), you can ask for a PDL (probationary driver’s license) so you can continue driving to work, school, medical appointments, or other approved locations.
Michael Becker has over a quarter-century's worth of experience as an attorney and more than 100 trials under his belt. He is a sought-after legal commentator and is licensed to practice law in Colorado, Nevada, California, and Florida.