Getting arrested for DUI does not mean you will be convicted. Police misconduct, defective breathalyzers and crime lab mistakes may be enough to get your charges lessened or dismissed. Visit our page on Colorado DUI Laws to learn more.
How can I check the points on my license in Colorado?
Coloradans may check the number of DMV points on their driver’s license by requesting a copy of their driving record. People can do this online, in-person, or through the mail. The cost for a driving history record search is $9.00 (or $10.00 for a certified search).
Go to the DMV website to request a driving record. You will need to input your:
The entire process takes five to ten minutes.
Go to any Department of Motor Vehicles branch during business hours. People can search for the closest location here. Be sure to phone ahead of time to see if it is necessary to make an appointment.
The Colorado DMV office will provide the record request form to fill out. Be sure to bring your driver’s license and know your social security number. Most DMVs accept cash, credit card, check, or money order. But call ahead of time to confirm the method of payment.
Once you submit the form, the entire process takes five to ten minutes.
Fill out the record request form. Specify whether you want a certified or non-certified copy. Any check or money order should be made out to the Colorado Department of Revenue. Then mail the letter to:
Colorado Department of Revenue
Division of Motor Vehicles
Driver Control Section
1881 Pierce Street
Lakewood, CO 80214
Once you mail the letter, the DMV should respond within a two-week period of time.
Under the driver’s license point system, Colorado license-holders who get a moving violation will have demerit points added to their record. The more serious the traffic offense or traffic infraction, the most points it carries. Common traffic law driving offenses and their point values are the following:
|Colorado traffic violation||Number of points added to the driver’s license|
|DUI or DUI per se||12|
|Leaving the scene of an accident (hit-and-run)||12|
|Evading an officer||12|
|UDD (underage drinking and driving)||4|
|Improper passing traffic tickets||4|
|Failure to show proof of insurance||4|
The point value for speeding tickets ranges from 1 to 12 points depending on the location and how much the driver was going over the speed limit.
Under Colorado law, it depends on whether the person is a minor driver or adult driver, and whether the driver was a professional chauffeur:
|Colorado driver’s license holder||Number of DMV points in consecutive months that trigger a point suspension|
|Age 21 years and older||
|Age 18 to 20 years||
|Under 18 years of age||
|Chauffeurs (such as taxi drivers)||
*The license-holder has the burden to show these points were incurred during the course of employment as a chauffeur.
License-holders are entitled to a DMV hearing – which is like a mini-trial – to contest the revocation of driving privileges. The hearing officer decides whether suspensions last six months or a year before the person can apply for reinstatement. License-holders may be able to get a probationary driver’s license (PDL) to drive to and from work and school during the suspension period.
We create attorney-client relationships throughout the state of Colorado, including Denver, Colorado Springs, and more. The initial consultation is always free.
Michael Becker has over a quarter-century's worth of experience as an attorney and more than 100 trials under his belt. He is a sought-after legal commentator and is licensed to practice law in Colorado, Nevada, California, and Florida.
Following a Nevada reckless driving (NRS 484B.653) conviction, the waiting period to seal the criminal record after the case ends is one year for misdemeanors, two years for gross misdemeanors, and five years for category B felonies. And if the reckless driving charge gets dismissed, the defendant can petition for a seal immediately. What is ...
Generally, the statute of limitations for a negligence claim in California is 2 years. However, certain types of cases may have a longer or a shorter timeframe. There are also circumstances that toll, or delay, the running of the time to file the claim. Lawsuits filed after the applicable statute of limitations has expired are ...
Restitution is calculated by totaling the financial losses suffered by the victim of a crime. Different states use different systems. Restitution usually includes things like property damage, medical expenses, lost income, and other costs. However, it often does not cover things like pain and suffering or legal expenses. The payment of restitution is usually a ...
California defines assault weapons by the firearm’s specific make, model, and series, as well as by its general characteristics. The list includes semiautomatic centerfire rifles, pistols, and shotguns. Firearms that fall under the definition of assault weapon are generally illegal within the state. Possessing an assault weapon is a wobbler offense. Manufacturing, selling, or transporting ...