Getting arrested for DUI does not mean you will be convicted. Police misconduct, defective breathalyzers and crime lab mistakes may be enough to get your charges lessened or dismissed. Visit our page on Colorado DUI Laws to learn more.
How many points on a Colorado license to trigger a license suspension?
For adult drivers 21 and older in Colorado, a driver’s license suspension is triggered by acquiring 12 points in 12 months – or 18 points in 24 months.
For adult drivers ages 18 to 20 in Colorado, a driver’s license suspension is triggered by acquiring 9 points in 12 months – or 12 points in 24 months – or 14 points between turning 18 and before becoming 21.
For minor drivers under 18 years old in Colorado, a driver’s license suspension is triggered by acquiring 6 points in 12 months – or 7 points before turning 18.
And for on-duty chauffeurs (such as taxi-cab drivers) in Colorado, a driver’s license suspension is triggered by acquiring 16 points in 12 months – or 24 points in 24 months – or 28 points in 48 months.
Therefore, the DMV point thresholds are harsher for younger drivers and laxer for professional chauffeurs. The following table summarizes the DMV point thresholds for Colorado license suspensions:
Motorist in Colorado
License suspension threshold
Minor drivers (under 18 years of age)
6 points in 12 months, or
7 points before turning 18
Adults ages 18 to 20
9 points in 12 months,
12 points in 24 months, or
14 points between turning 18 and before becoming 21
The Colorado DMV hearing officer may grant suspended license-holders a “probationary driver’s license” (a.k.a. PDL or “red license”). PDLs permit drivers to go to and from certain pre-approved locations such as the office or school.
Note that people who had a PDL before are unlikely to be granted any more in the future. Also note that people will lose their PDL if they violate its terms or pick up any new traffic citations.3
The more serious the moving violation, the more DMV points it carries.
How many points do traffic tickets carry?
The more serious the Colorado traffic violation, the higher the point value that the DMV assigns the driver. For example, speeding 40 mph or more over the limit carries 12 points. Reckless driving and DWAI (driving while ability impaired) carry eight points. Speeding 10 mph to 19 mph over the limit carries four points. And speeding 5 mph to 9 mph over the limit carries one point.
Michael Becker has over a quarter-century's worth of experience as an attorney and more than 100 trials under his belt. He is a sought-after legal commentator and is licensed to practice law in Colorado, Nevada, California, and Florida.
10 of the most important rights that employees have under California employment law include: overtime pay, meal and rest breaks, anti-discrimination rights, protection from sexual harassment, family and medical leave (FMLA), minimum wages, protection from workplace retaliation, workplace safety, sick leave, and protection from wrongful termination. Workers in California also have other rights, as well. ...
The involuntary civil commitment process in Colorado allows police or medical professionals to detain someone in certain situations. The goal of this emergency detention is to protect someone who is suffering from mental problems. The detention can last for up to 72 hours. It can turn into a longer treatment after a court hearing. People cannot be held in jail ...
Drivers who strike a pedestrian lawfully in a crosswalk can face a civil lawsuit, driver’s license repercussions, traffic citations, and potentially even criminal prosecution. If the pedestrian is seriously or fatally hurt, the consequences will be worse for the driver. However, if the pedestrian was at-fault for the accident, the driver may not face any ...
Maybe. Teachers and prospective teachers may face difficulty in gaining employment or maintaining their educator positions, with a DUI or DWI conviction on their record. The true answer to this question typically depends on the severity of the DUI and the jurisdiction in which the teacher works. With regards to new teachers, they are subject ...