Getting arrested for DUI does not mean you will be convicted. Police misconduct, defective breathalyzers and crime lab mistakes may be enough to get your charges lessened or dismissed. Visit our page on Colorado DUI Laws to learn more.
Show state tax returns that demonstrate an income close to poverty guidelines.
3. Does everyone convicted of DUI need to get an IID?
Only if the defendant wants to get an IID-restricted driver’s license. Defendants who choose not to drive during their license suspension period do not need an IID.
DUI defendants typically have to wait one or two months before they may be eligible for a restricted license.
4. How long do I need to have an IID?
It depends on the specific Colorado DUI charge. People convicted of a 1st time DUI in Colorado get a nine-month license suspension. But they may resume driving after only one month with an IID. And if they drive for four months straight without incident, they may be able to get the IID removed early.
5. What happens if I tamper with the IID?
The DMV may revoke the defendant’s restricted driver’s license. This means the defendant will be unable to drive at all during the suspension period.
Tampering with an IID is a class 2 misdemeanor in Colorado under CRS 42-2-132.5. Penalties include up to 120 days in jail and/or up to $750 in fines.
“Tampering” with an IID comprises such actions as:
Removing the device from the vehicle;
Rewiring the device so it does not prevent the car from running;
Using another person’s breath sample;
Helping a DUI defendant to avoid using the device
Most IIDs have cameras and log every breath sample. And this information can come in as evidence against tampering suspects.
(Prior to March 1, 2022, tampering with an IID was a class 1 misdemeanor carrying at least 6 months in jail and/or $500 in fines. SB21-271)
6. How do IIDs work?
IIDs are small breathalyzer devices attached to a car’s steering wheel. They prevent a car from starting if they detect alcohol in the driver’s breath.
IIDs continue to demand random breath samples while the car is in motion. Drivers usually have four to six minutes to provide the sample. If it detects alcohol, it will instruct the driver to pull over and turn off the vehicle. In some cases, the car’s lights will flash and the horn will sound until the vehicle turns off.
Michael Becker has over a quarter-century's worth of experience as an attorney and more than 100 trials under his belt. He is a sought-after legal commentator and is licensed to practice law in Colorado, Nevada, California, and Florida.
As is most often the case with a holiday weekend, California law enforcement officers stepped up their patrols this past weekend. Not only were they operating a number of DUI / driver’s license checkpoints but they were also engaging in roving DUI saturation patrols. If you were unfortunate enough to be arrested for driving under ...
Every Colorado DUI arrest creates both a criminal case as well as a DMV administrative case. In the same way DUI defendants are entitled to a criminal trial to fight the criminal charges, defendants are also entitled to a DMV trial – called an express consent hearing – to fight the license revocation. Here are ...
Under California DUI law, you are currently considered to have given “implied consent” to a DUI chemical blood or breath test if you drive a car in the state. If you refuse to take such a test after being lawfully arrested for DUI, and you are later convicted of DUI, you will face additional penalties ...
No. Nevada law’s prohibition against driving while under the influence of drugs or alcohol does not extend to bicycles, electric bikes, or skateboards. Cycling under the influence is not a crime in Nevada. However, drunk or high cyclists risk being arrested for reckless endangerment (NRS 202.595). Legal definition Reckless endangerment is a very broad offense ...