The Glenn County Jail is located in the small, northern California city of Willows. This correctional facility houses male and female, adult detainees and inmates who have been sentenced for a California misdemeanor and/or felony crime. Glenn County is a 148-bed detention center that was built in 1989. There have been ongoing concerns regarding a need for expansion and updating of the facility, as discussed in this 2013 article.
The Glenn County Jail is situated about 84 miles north of Sacramento, accessed via the I-5. The address and phone number is:
141 S. Lassen Street
Willows, CA 95988
Our team of California criminal defense lawyers provide key information that may benefit friends and loved ones of individuals currently incarcerated in Glenn County. Below, the following important topics are covered regarding this jail:
- 1. How do I search for an inmate in Glenn County?
- 2. How do I post bail at Glenn County Jail?
- 3. Can I call an inmate?
- 4. How do I put money on an inmate’s account?
- 5. What are the visiting hours and policies?
- 6. Can inmates send and receive mail?
- 7. What is life like at Glenn County Detention Center?
- 8. Inmate Property
- 9. Legal Defense Help
1. How do I search for an inmate in Glenn County?
The Glenn County Sheriff’s Office provides daily updated arrest report information, which is accessed on the “Recent bookings” webpage. Simply click on a recent “Date of arrest” link to see a list of suspects booked into custody that day.
You can identify your party by date of birth, hair/eye color, height and weight. Also provided is the date, time and location of arrest, the charges and classification (felony or misdemeanor) and the bail amount, if offered.
2. How do I post bail at Glenn County Jail?
It is often the case that a Glenn County arrestee is granted the chance to gain temporary freedom from custody by posting a bail bond. To find out specifics about bail payment options, you can call the jail at (530) 934-6428.
3. Can I call an inmate?
All California criminal law detainees have a legal right to make three, free (local) phone calls, which can be used to call family and/or legal counsel. The Glenn County Detention Center will not accept incoming calls for detainees or inmates or pass along messages.
There are telephones available between 8:00 a.m. and 9:00 p.m. in the “dayrooms,” which are common, gathering areas in the jail housing units. Inmates can make collect calls or prepaid calls funded through “AdvancePay.” You can make an AdvancePay deposit online at the ConnectNetwork website, or call (800) 483-8314. Visa and Mastercard are accepted for deposits 24 hours a day.
Remember that inmate phone calls will be subject to monitoring and recording. This means it is in the best interest of your loved one to avoid speaking about criminal charges over the phone.
4. How do I put money on an inmate’s account?
There are several options family and friends can use to provide funds for a Glenn County Jail inmate’s commissary cash account. A cash account balance allows him or her to order food, toiletries, and other comfort items for weekly delivery. At this facility, there is a $100 maximum limit per commissary order. Weekly orders go in Tuesday (by 9:00 p.m.) for Thursday delivery.
Cash account payment options include:
- Jail Lobby – The jail has a kiosk machine that accepts cash, credit and debit cards. The lobby hours for the kiosk are 8:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m. You can also bring in money orders or cashier’s checks, which are accepted at the lobby window Monday through Friday, 8:00 a.m. to 5: p.m.
- Telephone – Call AccessCorrections SmartDeposit at (866) 394-0490 to make a deposit over the phone with your debit or credit card.
- Online – You can pay online with your credit or debit card at the AccessCorrections smart deposit webpage.
- Mail – Alternatively, you can send a money order or cashier’s check to the jail. Include the inmate’s name on the check. The Glenn County Correctional Facility does not accept personal checks.
5. What are the visiting hours and policies?
Inmates in Willow are allowed two 30-minute personal visits each week. A maximum of two people are allowed per visit. Visits that extend past 30 minutes will count as the inmate’s second visit for the week.
Visiting hours at the Glenn County Detention Facility are determined by gender and custody status. For males, general visitation is Tuesdays and Wednesdays from 9:00 a.m. to noon and 1:00 to 4:00 p.m., but individuals affiliated with certain gangs are separated to receive inmates on certain dates only, for instance Norteños being able to receive visitors on Tuesdays, and Sureños on Wednesdays. Female inmate visitation is Monday from 1:00 to 4:00 p.m.
Inmates in protective custody can have visitors on Thursdays from 1:00 to 4:00 p.m. For those on administrative segregation visits are regularly scheduled on Fridays, but potential visitors must call the jail (530) 934-6428 to learn more about their visiting options.
You must present a valid, government-issued photo ID at the jail. Minors under age 18 must be accompanied by a parent or guardian. Active parolees, former Glenn County inmates (within the last 60 days), and those on probation may not visit inmates at the jail.
6. Can inmates send and receive mail?
Glenn County Jail inmates can receive and send unlimited amounts of personal correspondence. Writing materials and stamped envelopes can be purchased through commissary. Inmates without funds are provided materials allowing them to mail out two letters a week.
Correspondence should be addressed as follows:
Inmate’s Name (matching booking name)
141 S. Lassen Street
Willows, CA 95988
Mail is inspected and not considered private, unless it is legal mail. Mail marked “legal” will be opened in the presence of the inmate.
Only business standard, unadorned envelopes should be used. Greeting cards are limited in size to 5” x 8” or smaller. You may send photographs no larger than 4” x 6,” but note there is a limit of 20 photos allowed in the jail cells at one time.
The following items should not be sent in the mail:
- Stationary or stamps
- Stickers, glued-on glitter
- Items doused with perfume or bodily fluids
- Hair clippings
- Polaroid photos
- Computer printed or photocopied material
You can order magazines, newspapers and soft-cover books that can be delivered directly from a publisher or book store. Inmates are limited to two magazines and two newspapers at a time only. Material that is obscene or thought to promote violence, gang activity or racial hatred will be rejected.
7. What is life like at Glenn County Detention Center?
All incoming inmates at the Glenn County Detention Center are assessed and classified for housing assignments, which may be in minimum, medium or maximum security. The assessment criteria includes current and past criminal activity, gang affiliations, and other factors.
Willow inmates have access to medical care and limited dental care. (There is an inmate co-pay for visits to the doctor, nurse, or dentist.) Over-the-counter and prescription medications may be administered by staff upon approval and under supervision. Mental health care is available, if needed.
Each Glenn County Jail housing area has the opportunity to exercise in the fenced yard at least three hours per week. There are many inmate assistance programs offered, including Alcoholics and Narcotics Anonymous meetings and academic study toward a general education diploma (GED). Inmates have access to a library onsite. There are also religious services and Bible study opportunities.
Glenn County has a work furlough program for inmates who have been granted this privilege. The program allows selected inmates to work outside the detention facility part or full time. Applications are provided by the jail staff.
The Glenn County Jail takes steps to comply with the Prison Rape Elimination Act (PREA) of 2003. There is a zero tolerance policy for sexual misconduct or abuse, and reports of violations should be made to staff members.
8. Inmate Property
Any property (and clothing) that comes into the jail at booking is stored until the inmate is released. Family and friends can come to the jail to pick up inmate property once a property lease form has been signed and submitted. (Money must be released within the first 24 hours of booking.) ID will be required for property pick-up.
9. Legal Defense Help
It is important to understand that in many cases, you or your loved one can successfully fight criminal allegations. The experienced criminal attorneys at California Legal Defense Group have a strong record of favorable results for past clients. We are known for getting charges dropped and/or obtaining a substantial reduction in penalties and damaging consequences. After a Glenn County arrest, please call our firm or contact us online for a free consultation.